Living Classrooms 'Magic'


September 16, 2001|By Sloane Brown

How do you say goodbye to summer? Throw a luau, and invite 2,000 of your closest friends. Folks in summer dresses and Hawaiian shirts mingled under a huge tent pitched on the Living Classrooms Foundation East Harbor Campus for "Maritime Magic 2001." They browsed a buffet and cheered a group of hula dancers as they carried a roast pig into the tent to the accompaniment of Polynesian drumbeats.

Among those raising a little heck, as well as more than $150,000 for the Living Classrooms Foundation: Parker Rockefeller, event chair / Living Classrooms Foundation vice president; Peggy Carroll and Eileen Abato, event committee members; James Piper Bond, foundation president; John Graham, foundation board chair; Jim Flick, Ed Hale, Stuart Walman and Drake Zaharis, board members; Bill Ewing, Maryland Food Bank executive director; Mike Baader, Venable partner; Dave Baker, Reese Press president; Virginia E. Jackson, state public defender office manager; David Nelson, Sierra Military Health Services president; Sandi Gerstung, Gerstung Inter-Sport controller; Syd Rubin, e.magination president; Damon Roach, EMC2 regional manager; Wally Pinkard, Colliers Pinkard president; Barbara Bryan, Trend Alert president; John Kellett, Baltimore Maritime Museum director; Greg Kantori, Knott Foundation executive director; Bill Lorenz, Bank of America Greater Baltimore president; Jamie Snead, Ziger / Snead Architects partner; Peter Snead, Baltimore health commissioner's office; Rick Gonzalez, Hospitality Maintenance Inc. president; George Kelly, Environmental Banc & Exchange managing director; Annie Costlow, Paine Webber vice president; Steve Stenerson, U.S. Lacrosse executive director; Cindy Conklin, O'Conor Piper & Flynn realtor; and Elinor Bacon, National Capital Revitalization Corporation president / CEO.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.