2 incumbents, ex-mayor win seats on City Council

10 candidates were on the ballot

turnout light at polls

May 08, 2001|By Childs Walker | Childs Walker,SUN STAFF

Two incumbents and a former mayor emerged yesterday from a crowded pack of 10 candidates to win three seats on the Taneytown City Council.

Incumbent Jacquelyn Boisvert led the winners with 214 votes, followed by former Mayor W. Robert Flickinger with 204 and incumbent James L. McCarron with 188. Incumbent James A. Wieprecht finished fourth with 134 votes.

"I think these results show confidence in the administration and the direction things are moving," said McCarron, adding that he was relieved by his victory.

Boisvert and Flickinger could not be reached for comment last night.

Only 338 of Taneytown's 1,933 registered voters turned out to cast ballots yesterday, about normal for a council election, said City Clerk Linda Hess.

Flickinger's return to public life showed the city's appreciation for familiar names. A councilman for 20 years and mayor for six, he retired from office in 1999, but returned, he said, because people never stopped suggesting that he run.

Flickinger said he had no problem with the job the council has done since he retired, but said Taneytown could use a family restaurant and a motel for visiting business people.

"I still have the town in my heart," he said in an interview last week.

"Bob has poured his heart and soul into the town," McCarron said. "I don't think there's any doubt he's always had Taneytown's best interest at heart."

The three winners had promised further development for Taneytown's main corridor. The city has been named a state and national Main Street Community.

"Main Street revitalization is something we've been working on ever since I've been on this council," 18-year veteran McCarron said before the election. "I would like to see it through to the end."

Incumbent council members deserve a chance to keep Taneytown's momentum going, Boisvert said last week. The bookkeeper for Taneytown Video has served eight years.

The other candidates also listed continued Main Street development as a priority, but a few, such as Charles Poole and Susan Reifsnider, had said the town needs more activities for children and teen-agers.

Youth sports programs abound, but nonsports activities are harder to come by, Poole said.

Reifsnider received 61 votes, followed by Donald E. Crawford Jr. with 41, Poole, Thomas J. LeQuire and Sharon K. Woodrum each with 30, and Lewis F. Wood with 23.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.