Municipal elections set for first half of the month

May 01, 2001

Taneytown holds the next municipal election in Carroll County on Monday.

Ten candidates are running for three City Council seats, including incumbents James L. McCarron, Jacquelyn J. Boisvert and James A. Wieprecht. Other candidates are Donald E. Crawford Jr., William Robert Flickinger, Thomas J. LeQuire, Charles E. Poole, Susan H. Reifsnider, Lewis F. Wood and Sharon K. Woodrum.

On May 8, voters in Hampstead, Union Bridge and New Windsor will cast ballots.

In Hampstead, five people are seeking three Town Council seats. Incumbents Vincent Corsaro, Haven Shoemaker Jr. and Wayne Thomas will face Myron H. Diehl Jr. and C. Donald Warner.

Union Bridge has three candidates for three expiring Town Council terms. Two incumbents, Dawn Metcalf and Karen Kotarski, will be on the ballot with Kathleen Smith.

Two seats on New Windsor Town Council are up for four-year terms. Incumbents Neal Roop and Rebecca Harman face challengers Frazier Hollenbeck, Ed Palsgrove and William Geelhaar. For mayor, Sam Pierce is the lone candidate for the office being vacated by Jack A. Gullo Jr.

Westminster's municipal election will be held May 14.

Four people are running for two seats on the Common Council. Roy L. Chiavacci and Frank E. Wagner Jr. are challenging incumbents Edward S. Calwell and Damian L. Halstad, council president. Council members Suzanne P. Albert and Kevin E. Dayhoff are running for mayor. Kenneth A. Yowan, Westminster's mayor since 1994, is not seeking re-election.

On May 15, Manchester voters will choose from six candidates for three council seats. The candidates are: incumbent Daniel C. Riley, and David M. Bott Sr., Edward Dale Wilder Jr., Julia Dawn Davidson, Paul M. Dattilio and Stephen M. Bankert.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.