Sykesville to elect mayor, 4 members of council today


Sykesville goes to the polls today to elect a mayor and four council members.

Voters, who must be town residents, can cast their ballots from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Town House, 7547 Main St.

Incumbent Mayor Jonathan S. Herman, who is seeking a third term, faces a challenge from Ted Campbell.

Three incumbent council members - Eugene Johnson, Debby Ellis and Jeannie Nichols - are seeking four-year terms. They are running against Garth Adams, Brian Beck, Connie Higgins, Frank Robert and Maxine Wooleyhand.

Councilman Russ Vreeland is running against Kathleen Hider to fill the remaining two years of the term of a member who resigned from the council last year.

Ballots will be counted manually and, with nearly 2,000 registered voters, results might not be available for several hours after polls close. As soon as the count is certified, results will be announced and posted on the town Web site:

Information: 410-795-8959.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.