Owens appoints six residents to local panels

April 24, 2001|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

Appointments of six people to three local government panels were announced yesterday by County Executive Janet S. Owens.

Brian E. Payne of Odenton and Gregory A. Harthausen Sr. of Millersville were named to the Spending Affordability Committee, which makes advisory recommendations on how much local government - and taxpayers - can afford to spend on services and capital construction projects.

Payne is a computer specialist with the Social Security Administration and a former technology teacher in Baltimore public schools. Harthausen, a former county police officer, owns a heating and air-conditioning business in Pasadena and is a founder and past president of the Old Mill Community Association and Millersville Optimist Club.

Owens named Glen Gardner of Crownsville and reappointed Lina Vlavianos of Millersville to the Severn River Commission, which advises the county, Annapolis and the state on matters related to the Severn and its watershed.

Gardner, a program analyst with the U.S. Department of Energy, owns a tree farm in Crownsville and is a member of the Crownsville Small Area Planning Committee and the county Forestry Board. Vlavianos is a supervisor with the Anne Arundel County Soil Conservation District.

Dwight K. Bartlett III of Crownsville and Jan W. Clark of Glen Burnie were named to the board of the county retirement and pension system, which oversees the program for the government's approximately 4,000 employees.

Bartlett is a management and actuarial consultant and a former commissioner with the Maryland Insurance Administration. Clark, a certified public accountant, is president and chief executive officer of Glen-Burnie-based County National Bank.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.