Troupe's `Chocolate Factory' production April 26-28

April 19, 2001

Severna Park Stage Company will present "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" at 7:30 p.m. April 26-28 at Severna Park High School, 60 Robinson Road.

The theater company received the highest ranking at the state-level One Act Play Festival held in January at Magruder High School in Montgomery County.

Its nonmusical "Charlie," based on the children's book by Roald Dahl, will feature special effects including a 6-foot "chocolate waterfall" and a backstage mist machine that will send out the smell of chocolate when children enter the factory.

Director-producer Douglas Kotula, the school drama coach, has assembled a cast of 24 for the show, assisted by students Meredith Snyder and Biana Slota.

The cast includes students Graham Whaples as Willy Wonka, Kevin Ridgely as Charlie Bucket, Charlie Estberg as Grandpa Joe, Brian Wilbur as Augustus Gloop, Meredith Snyder as Violet Beauregard, Chelly Choulis as Veruca Salt and Danny Schwartz as Mike Teevea.

The crew includes parent volunteer Wendy Osborn as resident costumer; former student Gary Tawes, technical adviser; and student Monica Lada, prop mistress.

Tickets are $5 in advance and $7 at the door. Information: 410- 544-0900.


Chemistry award: Bridget Duvall, a Millersville resident and senior at Villa Julie College, has been selected by the faculty as the college's recipient of the Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society 2001 student award for outstanding achievement in chemistry. Duvall, the daughter of Marguerite and William Duvall, is a 1997 graduate of the Institute of Notre Dame. She works part time for Guilford Pharmaceuticals, and is applying for graduate school.

Around town

Garden awards: Two garden projects in Severna Park have won awards for the Moonflower Garden Club at the annual meeting of Federated Garden Clubs of Maryland. Moonflower received the statewide organization's Roadside Beautification Award for its water garden along the B&A Trail at Hatton-Regester Green, and the Civic Development Award for the garden at the side entrance of Woods Memorial Presbyterian Church, where the group meets monthly.

Elephant Club: A membership meeting and election of new club officers will take place at a free Pizza and Politics Night meeting of the Republican group at 7:30 tonight at the Anne Arundel County Association of Realtors Building, 555 Benfield Blvd. in Severna Park. Guest speakers will be Dels. David G. Boschert and Robert C. Baldwin, 33rd District Republicans.

Chamber breakfast: The Severna Park Chamber of Commerce will hold a free breakfast for prospective members from 8 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. tomorrow at its office at 1 Holly Ave. The board of directors, group leaders and committee chairs will attend. Information: 410-647-3900.

Computer users: Annapolis Apple Slice, a club for Macintosh computer users and owners, will meet from 9:30 a.m. to noon Saturday at the Severna Park branch library, 45 McKinsey Road. Information: or 410-647-5605.

Boating safety: Friends of Kinder Farm Park and the county Department of Recreation and Parks will present a two-session Maryland Basic Boating Safety Course from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. this Saturday and April 28 at the Severna Park Jaycees Community Building on the Kinder Park grounds. The program fee is $15, and advance registration is required, Information: 410-222-6115.

Singles dance: An L.A. Singles dance will be held from 7:30 p.m. to 11 p.m. Sunday at the Severna Parks Elks Club, 160 Truck House Road. Admission is $7. Jeans and tennis shoes are not allowed. Information: 410-969-3249.

Parkinson's meeting: Dr. Michael Kahn, physician and chronic illness psychologist, will discuss issues involved in living with the disease at a brown-bag lunch meeting of the Anne Arundel chapter of the American Parkinson Disease Association, at noon on Tuesday at the Severna Park library on McKinsey Road. Information: 410-956-2951.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.