Pleasant Valley fire company gives honors, installs officers

April 05, 2001

Pleasant Valley Volunteer Fire Company observed its 70th anniversary at its recent annual banquet.

A memorial tribute was given for life member Clarence Welk and his wife, Pauline, both active members who passed away last year. Mr. and Mrs. Hoby Wolfe made a presentation to the fire company in their memory.

Honored for top response in fire calls last year were: Richard Harman Sr., Michael Swartzbaugh, Brian Wagner, Michael Gist, Gregory Stewart, Michael Chrest, Forrest Shaw, Michael Wantz, William Wantz, Ronald Blizzard Jr.

Top ambulance responders were: Kimberly Royer, Wayne Fisher, Paul Cohen, Jeff Schaffer, Brian Wagner, Charles Velte, Wendy Bowersox, Susan Mott, Michael Chrest, Michael Swartzbaugh.

Top fund-raisers were: Scott Smith, Brenda Hay, Kim Thomas, Ernest Stewart, Debra Wantz, Jean Means, Michael Swartzbaugh, Betty Gragg, Barbara Davis, John Means Sr.

Length of service awards went to: Donald Leister Sr., John Means Sr., 50 years; Fred Hooper, Charles Taylor, James Wantz, life membership; David Warehime, for many years as director; Glenn Hay, for many years as treasurer.

The company also installed its 2001 officers at the banquet.

Administrative officers are: Michael Swartzbaugh, president; Stephen Wantz, vice president; Susan Mott, secretary, and assistant Brenda Hay; Jack Wagner, treasurer, and assistant Glenn Hay; Jeffery Geiman, John Means Sr., Richard Smith, Robert Smith, Michael Stewart, board of directors.

Fire line officers are: Michael Gist, fire chief; Robert Fogle, assistant chief; Forrest Shaw, fire captain; John Royer, Joshua Willet, Michael Swartzbaugh, Ronald Blizzard, fire lieutenants.

Emergency Medical Services officers are: Jeffrey Schaffer, captain; Charles Velte, Charles Lookingbill, Kimberly Royer, lieutenants.

Candidates for 3 open seats on Taneytown council sought

Taneytown will hold elections for three City Council seats May 7.

Certificates of nomination are available from the city clerk during business hours. Deadline for nominations is 4:30 p.m. Monday.

Candidates for council must be at least 25 years old, have lived in the city for two years and be a qualified voter. Nomination forms must be signed by at least 10 registered voters.

Residents needing to register to vote must do so at the city office by 4:30 p.m. April 30 or at the Carroll County Board of Elections in Westminster.

Information: 410-751-1100.

Basket bingo to be held tomorrow in Taneytown

Taneytown Volunteer Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary will hold basket bingo tomorrow at the Firemen's Activities Building on Memorial Drive.

Doors open at 5:30 p.m. and games begin at 7 p.m. The auxiliary will sell food, including $5 shrimp platters.

Tickets are $10 in advance or $12 at the door. All baskets are filled.

Information: 410-756-4156 or 410-756-6191.

Motivational speaker Kohn is Taneytown breakfast guest

Taneytown will hold its monthly business breakfast at 7:30 a.m. tomorrow at Thunderhead Bowling Center at Routes 140 and 832.

The speaker will be Howard Kohn, known for his motivational and planning seminars throughout the mid-Atlantic.

Information and reservations: City Hall, 410-751-1100.

New Windsor will begin yard waste collections

New Windsor will begin yard waste collection Saturday, continuing the first and third Saturdays of the month through December.

Yard waste must be placed in containers that can be dumped, or in clear plastic bags. Tree and shrub prunings must be no longer than 4 feet and tied in bundles.

Yard waste commingled with trash will not be taken. Items for collection must be placed outside by 8 a.m.

Information: 410-635-6575.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.