JHU men continue April mastery

11-7 win over Villanova is 25th straight in month

April 04, 2001|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Sophomore attack Bobby Benson (McDonogh) had three goals and an assist as the third-ranked Johns Hopkins men's lacrosse team defeated Villanova, 11-7, last night at Homewood Field.

The Blue Jays outscored the Wildcats 5-1 in the third quarter to spark the victory.

It was the second straight win for Johns Hopkins (4-2) and extended its April winning streak to 25 games.

The Blue Jays posted 6-0 records in April in 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2000. During the 25-game run, Hopkins has outscored the opposition 396-183.

After battling to a 4-4 tie at halftime, Hopkins took control with a three-goal run to open the third quarter. Senior midfielder Rob Frattarola scored on an assist from Benson just 2:55 into the period and sophomore attackman Adam Doneger added an unassisted goal just over a minute later to give Hopkins a 6-4 lead.

Benson scored the second of his three goals just over four minutes later to make it 7-4, only to have Villanova cut the deficit to 7-5 on a goal by senior Matt Lucas with 2:34 left in the period.

Goals by Doneger and senior midfielder Eric Wedin in the last 11 seconds of the third quarter pushed the lead to 9-5, and the Wildcats (4-4) were never closer than three the rest of the way.


Goucher 21, Dickinson 10: Liz Martin (Bryn Mawr) totaled 10 points (six goals, four assists) and Lauren Manekin (Park School) had nine (eight goals, one assist) to carry the host Gophers (8-2) past the Red Devils (2-5).

Goucher has scored 48 goals in the past two games - the most in school history over a two-game span.

Franklin & Marshall 10, Washington College 7: Megan Bermingham and Laura Langmore each scored three goals to lead the Diplomats (8-1) over the Shorewomen (2-4) in a Centennial Conference game in Chestertown.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.