Eight honored for service to police

County businesses award Prothero for valor

March 30, 2001|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

The Baltimore County Police Foundation honored eight people last night for their service to the department, including the officers who shot Joseph C. Palczynski and the officials who handled the media frenzy that surrounded the incident.

The foundation, made up of county businesses that provide technical and financial assistance to the department, held the 21st annual awards dinner at the Marriott Hunt Valley Inn.

Officers Robert O. Jones Sr. and Frank D. Barile Jr. received Valor Awards for their part in the conclusion to the Palczynski hostage standoff last March. Jones and Barile fired the shots that killed Palczynski - who had kidnapped his former girlfriend and killed four people before taking a family hostage in Dundalk - to end the standoff.

The foundation also gave Distinguished Contribution to the Profession Awards to Bill Toohey, director of the department's media relations section, and Cpl. Vickie Warehime, a police spokeswoman, for their work during the two-week ordeal.

A Valor Award was given posthumously to Sgt. Bruce A. Prothero, killed Feb. 7, 2000, while working a second job as a security guard at J. Brown Jewelers in Pikesville.

The Exceptional Police Performance Award was given to Detective Becky L. Walsh of the family crimes unit. Walsh arrested suspects in 34 of the 74 sexual assault cases she handled last year.

The Community Service Award was given to Officer Betty Lou Dewey of the Essex Precinct's community outreach team. Dewey led the precinct's Christmas food and toy drive last year, which collected 62 baskets of food and more than 2,000 toys. The Crime Prevention Award was given to Lt. Frederick E. Ash Jr., who is assigned to the North Point Precinct. Ash is responsible for reducing crime at Eastpoint Mall and the surrounding community of Colgate.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.