Flower arrangements bloom at Walters


March 11, 2001|By Sloane Brown

Barbara Himmelrich gestured to the extravaganza of apricot roses, white lilies, peach tulips and flowering dogwood branches in the center of the Walters Art Museum Sculpture Court.

"That," pronounced the Museum Women's Committee member, "is the most exquisite arrangement. And our women did it!"

This year, at the 12th annual Art Blooms Opening Night Reception, 25 area garden clubs created flower arrangements that reflected various works of art in galleries around the court. Those in the court itself, including bunches of pastel roses stuffed into hollowed-out brioches, were all done by members of the Women's Committee, organizers of the annual event.

Even the buffet spread out around the huge centerpiece had an artistic flair. Croissant cornucopias spilled out wispy asparagus spears, and pyramids of frizzled onions crowned circles of sliced fillet.

Among the 250 guests indulging in the floral feast: Joanne Bartlett and Alicia Haberman, event co-chairs; Missy Adams, Women's Committee chair; Chi Chi Bosworth, Connie Fitzpatrick, Maria Gamper, Joanne Golden, Marion Kandel, Petey O'Donnell, Beth G. Pierce and Cokey Rienhoff, Women's Committee members; Paula Pryke, London florist and Art Blooms keynote speaker; Adena Testa, museum board chair; Robert Feinberg, Neal Borden, Wendyce H. Brody and Sam Himmelrich Sr., board members; Gary Vikan, museum director; Andrea Stieff, Andrea Stieff Designs owner; John Bond, Columbia Bank president / CEO; Joe Haberman, Heidrick & Struggles partner; Lisa Barnhill, Hill & Co. associate broker; Peter Hoffberger, Hoffberger Insurance Group vice president; Jay Gouline, Springlake Corp. president; Dr. Neal Salomon, retired cardiac surgeon; and Rich Roca, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab director.

The party raised more than $50,000 for the Walters Art Museum.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.