Titles smooth over rough times

North Harford's Conrad, Franklin's Mays capture state wrestling crowns


High Schools

March 06, 2001|By Katherine Dunn and Lem Satterfield | Katherine Dunn and Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

Baltimore City and Baltimore County teams came up short of team state wrestling titles last weekend at Western Maryland College, but two wrestlers, Franklin's Luke Mays (160) and North Harford's Steve Conrad (103), ended a couple years of frustration.

Mays had a 10-4 championship win over Chris Miller (33-2) of 4A-3A tournament team champion Paint Branch of Montgomery County. It was the 31st straight win for Mays, who finished 37-1 after being third two years ago and second last year. Mays' only loss this season was to a Delaware state runner-up.

Conrad (34-2, 17 pins), who missed most of last season with an elbow injury, defeated Howard County runner-up Jeff Plasse for the title, 9-8. Conrad, a sophomore, earlier hammered top seeds Artie Kaehler of Kent County and Doug Ramsey of Atholton by a combined 21-8 to reach the final.

Finishing second in 4A-3A were Kenwood's Kyle Krumholtz (103) and Jason Laubach (140). In 2A-1A, runners-up were Sparrows Point's Mike Webber, last year's 2A-1A champ, Harford Tech's Brian Owens (135), Joppatowne's Phil Parrow (145) and Hereford's Mike Reider (160).

Third-place finishers in 4A-3A were Perry Hall's Nick Ramsel (112), Franklin's Matt Schuster (130) and Patterson's Caleb Moore (152). Fourth-place finishers in 4A-A were Perry Hall's Jim Van Daniker (103), Lake Clifton's Terry Hopson (112) and Bel Air's Tim Kassouff (189).

Owings Mills' Clayton Arnold (130) and North Harford's Chad Roland (135) were third in 2A-1A, and Owings Mills' Neil Saval (140), Towson's Andy Posil (160), Aberdeen's Shane Farmer (171) and North Harford's Matt Edie (heavyweight) were fourth.

Van Daniker (33-3), a sophomore, and Krumholtz (34-4), a freshman, came closer than anyone this season to putting a halt to the run of freshman sensation Danny April (34-0) of Churchill .

Van Daniker led their semifinal most of the way, including 7-4, before April scored a hotly contested four-point move with 32 seconds left for an 8-7 win. Next up was Krumholtz, who nearly overcame a 6-1 deficit before losing -- while trying to turn April -- 6-5.

"Jimmy and Kyle are incredible wrestlers, very smart on the mat. They just outsmart people and they're really good at it," April said. "Van Daniker took me down twice -- that's the first time I've been taken down all year. He used the clock wisely and just countered all my moves."

Overlea's Chaudhry Afzal (31-1) bounced last year's state champ, Brandon Kamp of Northern Garrett, 9-7, in the quarterfinals at 152 before being pinned by Mount Hebron's two-time state runner-up, Mike Mengel, in the semifinals and defaulting out of the tournament with a shoulder injury.

In the Hall

St. Paul's School for Girls unveiled its Athletic Hall of Fame last month, inducting a large inaugural class that included the late Flo Bell, who devoted much of her life to women's sports and spent 15 years at the Brooklandville school.

The first Florence Bell Award was presented to Ron and Debbie Landsman and Susan Allen Kamauff for significant contributions to women's sports. The Landsmans, whose daughter Jenny graduated last year, founded the Parents' Athletic Council. Kamauff, whose daughters Lexi and Tori are now at St. Paul's, was the second female swimmer to earn All-America status at Virginia.

Also inducted into the Hall were Ophelia Hollingshead, who spent 28 years at St. Paul's, retiring in 1996 as athletic director; and Caroline Ober, a former athletic director who helped launch the lacrosse program.

Five former athletes were named to the hall: Jenifer Blenckstone Boyce, a three-sport standout and lacrosse All-American at Washington College; Lindsay Sheehan Bradley, an All-Metro field hockey player and All-America field hockey and lacrosse player at Virginia; Lyn Brooks, a three-sport standout who later completed 19 Ironman Triathlon Championships; Traci Davis, an All-American and former U.S. team member in lacrosse; and Joy Koch McPeters, a four-sport athlete who went on to coach the Japanese National Lacrosse Team.

The entire 1972 field hockey team, which went unbeaten and unscored upon, was also inducted: Fran Rulon-Miller, Claire Stieff, Susan Ohrenschall Baxter, Sallie Grymes Kelley, Nancy Gross, Anne Martien, Melanie Morris Long, Katharine Slack, Sally Miller, Karen Shackelford Moore. Also, Amey Rulon-Miller, Bonnie Culberton, Karen Willing Artuso, Kim Strickland Dere and Patricia Kaestner Carroll.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.