South Carroll is second to one

Paint Branch takes title

Cavaliers' Hamper wins his 2nd straight crown

High Schools

4A-3A state wrestling

March 04, 2001|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

Bryan Hamper avenged an earlier loss to Kenwood's Jason Laubach in the 140-pound final and earned his second straight state wrestling title, 9-4. That victory helped South Carroll (82 points) finish second to Paint Branch (98.5) last night at the Class 4A-3A state tournament at Western Maryland College.

The Cavaliers' runner-up position was solidified by several high finishes: Kellen Weber (125) and Dan Patterson (135) were third; and Travis Mohlhenrich (152) was fourth.

Hamper (32-6) improved to 2-1 against Laubach (35-2), but it was an earlier tournament victory that he wanted more. That's when Hamper took only 49 seconds to pin Arundel's Mike Money with a headlock that avenged his first loss of five this season. Money finished third for the second straight year.

"I haven't used a headlock since my freshman season," said Hamper, who was runner-up to Laubach at regions.

For third-place Old Mill (72 points), Adam DeCosmo routed Montgomery Blair's Camilo Rincon, 17-5, for his second straight 4A-3A crown; Adam Dayton (189) pinned his way to his first state crown; and Dominic Grossi (145) was third. DeCosmo holds the single-season school record at 38-0. His career mark of 140-14 is a school record.

"I felt pressure to look like a champion," said DeCosmo, who had to cut 5 pounds Friday night to make weight Saturday morning. "I worked out with [assistant coach] Wayne Hicks right up until weigh-ins. In my match, I worked him [Rincon] to the breaking point. When I was done, he was dog tired."

Dayton (35-1) pinned all four opponents, including Gaithersburg's Brendan McCarron in 3:49 to overcome a 3-0 deficit. Dayton led 13-2 before pinning Paint Branch's Matt Stewart, and trailed 3-0 before finishing River Hill's Jesse Fawcett. A year ago, Dayton handed state champ Melvin Guthrie, of Chesapeake, his only loss, but failed to qualify for states.

Chesapeake's Matt Eveleth (32-0 this year, 97-3 career) pinned all four of his opponents to win his second state crown. A three-time finalist, Eveleth (125) beat state champs Darian Kess (Curley), Luke Palumbo (Annapolis Area Christian) and Marc Heincleman (Magruder). Eveleth pinned Broadneck's Jake Dove in the final.

"I wanted to pin everyone; that was the plan," Eveleth said. "I had wrestled him [Dove] before, so I had to change what I did, a little, so he didn't pick it up."

Eveleth trailed 7-1 against Weber, who regained a 10-9 lead and had Eveleth on his back midway through the second period. With Eveleth on his back, the official called the champion for unsportsmanlike conduct, halting the move, and, Weber felt, the potential pin.

Weber, who pinned his way to third place, said he never considered defaulting the bout because of the penalty, which would have awarded him the victory.

Franklin's Luke Mays (160), who finished third and second at states, respectively, in two previous seasons, improved to 36-1 with four decisions. His last decision was a 10-4 win over Paint Branch's Chris Miller (33-2). Wilde Lake's Matt Ennis overcame deficits in two of his previous bouts with pins, and stacked Meade's Matt Harvey (28-3) in a cradle in the 119-pound final.

North Hagerstown's Wayne Boward (145) derailed North Carroll's Fran Jackson in his quest to be Maryland's third four-time champion, winning, 8-2. Jackson, a junior, is a two-time champion. River Hill's Ryan Green (130) lost his title, 3-1, to Westlake's Jon Peters (33-2, 22 pins).

Perry Hall's 112-pound Nick Ramsel (34-1), Patterson's Caleb Moore (152), Franklin's Matt Schuster (130) and River Hill's Scott Cannon (heavyweight) were third; Perry Hall's Jim Van Daniker (103), Lake Clifton's Terry Hopson (112), Chesapeake's Chris Grove (130), Annapolis Bill Vollono (135), Bel Air's Tim Kassouff (189) were all fourth.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.