S. Carroll is leader in 4A-3A

Hammond 2nd in 2A-1A entering semifinals

State wrestling

High Schools

March 03, 2001|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

Fourth-ranked South Carroll yesterday moved Kellen Weber (125), Dan Patterson (135), Bryan Hamper (140) and Travis Mohlhenrich (152) into today's 4A-3A semifinals and leads Paint Branch, 43-31, in the tournament at Western Maryland College.

On the 2A-1A side, Atholton moved Doug Ramsey (103), Bryan Radik (130), Adam Roth (145) and Mark Carbone (171) into the semifinals, and Hammond has Jimmy Davis (125), Ryan Mackin (135) Scott Wallace (171) in the next round.

Northern Garrett leads the 2A-1A team standings with 45 points. Hammond is next with 43, followed by Williamsport (42), Kent County (41) and Atholton (34).

Oakland Mills' two-time state champ, Robert Scott (heavyweight) continued his roll and will meet Kent's Willie Leonard, a runner-up to Scott last year, in a battle of unbeatens. Oakland Mills has 30 points in 2A-1A.

In 4A-3A, Old Mill, winner of six state tournament crowns, is in third place with 29 points. Second-place Paint Branch moved four wrestlers into the semifinals.

Advancing for Old Mill were defending state champ Adam DeCosmo (135), who moved to 36-0; Dominic Grossi (145), and No. 1-ranked Adam Dayton (189), who dominated Paint Branch's county runner-up, Matt Stewart, 13-2, before pinning him in 3:11.

Franklin (25 points, fifth) advanced Matt Schuster (130) and the Mays twins, Luke (160) and Sam (171), the latter by a pin. Chesapeake-Anne Arundel's 125-pound Matt Eveleth (31-0), a defending state champ, and South Carroll's Weber (28-3) will meet in the semis.

Eveleth's teammate, freshman Chris Grove (130), scored three near-fall points in the third period of his 5-3, come-from-behind win over Sherwood's regional champ, Ryan Cummings. Grove will meet Ryan Green of River Hill.

Broadneck and Kenwood, tied for 11th, each has two wrestlers in the semifinals. Jake Dove (125) and Jordan Rathlev (160) moved forward for the Bruins, as did Kenwood's Kyle Krumholtz (103) and Jason Laubach (140). Dove edged Churchill's Tom Massie with a buzzer-beating reversal for a 9-8 win, and will face Northern's Chris Shelton.

North Carroll's two-time champ Fran Jackson (145) will meet Old Mill's Grossi in the semifinals as he tries to become the state's third four-time champ.

Perry Hall wrestlers Jim Van Daniker (103) and Nick Ramsel (112) moved to 32-1, and 34-0, respectively. Ramsel required a third-period pin to overcome Paint Branch's state runner-up, Antonio Williams, who led by as much as 11-4.

"He was better than me on his feet, and just took me down, took me down. The score wouldn't have been that high except I kept trying stupid moves," said Ramsel, a Baltimore County and region runner-up who went 1-2 at last year's states. "I was offering my leg the whole second and third period, I wrestled a real dumb match, but was able to pull it out."

Lake Clifton's Terry Hopson (29-3) scored a 112-pound quarterfinal pin over McDonogh's Derek McDermott (29-3), who was coming off a first-round upset of defending state champ Trent Dixon of Eastern Tech.

Westminster's Adam Tenney (119) will meet Meade's Matt Harvey (27-2), who came from behind to defeat North Carroll's Ross Bell. Wilde Lake's Matt Ennis (31-1) overcame two deficits for pins against Suitland's Marcus Bell in overtime and Churchill's Branden Shapiro in 5:25.

In 2A-1A, Oakland Mills moved Scott, Jeff Plasse (103) and Neil Nakagama (112), and North Harford (eighth), moved Scott Conrad (103), Chad Roland (135) and Matt Edie (heavyweight).

In a twist at 103 pounds, North Harford's Scott Conrad (30-2), whose only losses came at the hands of Owings Mills' Dave Jacovsky, upset Kent County's heavily favored Artie Kaehler, 10-5. Conrad's only previous loss also was to Jacovsky, who was eliminated on the other side of the brackets in the first round.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.