WMC names new registrar, three other staff members

January 28, 2001

Jan Kiphart is the new registrar at Western Maryland College and will start this semester, along with other staff members in development and student affairs.

As registrar, she will oversee the production and maintenance of academic records for all undergraduate and graduate students.

The registrar's office also reports and posts grades, produces class schedules, certifies graduation requirements and processes transcript requests.

Kiphart earned a bachelor's degree from Colorado State University.

Joining the development office this semester are Toni Condon, director of major gifts, and Jennifer Fisher, assistant director of annual giving, both of Westminster.

Condon will develop a comprehensive reunion giving program to include annual, major and planned gifts, as well as expand donor recognition and stewardship efforts.

She earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Nebraska and a master of technical and scientific communication degree from Miami University in Ohio.

Fisher will work to increase young alumni participation in the annual fund. She also will manage the faculty-staff campaign, assist with telemarketing and mail solicitation efforts, and coordinate with Alumni Affairs on a fund-raising education program for students.

She is a 1996 Hood College graduate.

Joining the student affairs staff is Elizabeth Towle, assistant dean of student affairs and director of residence life.

In 1999, she wrote the chapter "Picking Up The Pieces: A case study of the death of a resident" for K. Manning's book "Giving Voice to Critical Campus Issues: Qualitative Research in Student Affairs." Towle earned a bachelor of arts degree from Assumption College and a master of arts from the University of Vermont.

39 WMC employees honored for service

Western Maryland College honored 39 employees for their many years of service during a seniority recognition luncheon Jan. 18.

The employees represent more than 772 years of service on "the Hill," led by Charles Cooper of building services, 47 years, and recently retired Robert Brightful of building maintenance, 45 years. Both are from Westminster.

President-elect Joan Develin Coley was host. She is longtime employee as well, having started teaching here in 1973. She will be sworn in as WMC's eighth president in April.

Employees of 25 years or more received a Western Maryland College wooden rocking chair featuring the college seal. Other group members were presented with engraved marble book ends featuring their name, department and respective years of service.

The employees, their departments and the number of years they have served WMC are:

Leona V. Shockey of Westminster, Hoover Library, 36 years; Beverly J. Herndon of Keymar, central services, 32 years; M. Elaine Simpson of Westminster, physical plant, 32 years; Boyd T. McClain of Westminster, building maintenance, 31 years; George T. Keeney of New Windsor, steam plant, 30 years; Ernest L. Ogle of Taneytown, telecommunications, 30 years; Ronald L. Dayhoff of Taneytown, grounds, 28 years.

Also, Elizabeth M. Long of Hanover, Pa., central services, 28 years; Doris J. Miller of Hanover, Pa., development, 28 years; A. Carole Arrieta of Westminster, registrar's office, 27 years; Beverly G. Staub of Westminster, institutional advancement, 27 years; Helen L. Haines of Taneytown, intercollegiate athletics, 26 years; Susan L. Schmidt of Hanover, Pa., bursar's office, 25 years.

Also, Judith A. Hart of Westminster, student affairs, 20 years; Helen M. Thompson of Hanover, Pa., mathematics and computer science, 20 years; Barry L. Bosley of Westminster, facilities management and auxiliary services, 15 years; Katherine L. Cousins of Finksburg, facilities management and auxiliary services, 15 years; Bobby K. Fields of Westminster, grounds, 15 years; Paula M. Harris of Westminster, campus safety, 15 years.

Also, Dean E. Leppo of Littlestown, Pa., building maintenance, 15 years; Dorothy B. Martin of Westminster, intercollegiate athletics, 15 years; Teresa A. McAndrew of Westminster, financial services, 15 years; Barbara J. Yantis of Baltimore, payroll, 15 years; Betty E. Beaver of Westminster, building services, 10 years; Julie A. Biddinger of Owings Mills, admissions, 10 years; Nancy L. Cornell of Westminster, development, 10 years; David M. Crabbs of Westminster, building services, 10 years.

Also, Ruth F. Davis of Westminster, campus safety, 10 years; Michael A. Deardorff of Westminster, building services, 10 years; Michael S. Duvall of Westminster, grounds, 10 years; George F. Glacken of Westminster, building services, 10 years; Kay L. Glacken of Westminster, building services, 10 years; Gregg S. Nibbelink of Hampstead, intercollegiate athletics, 10 years.

Also, M. Martha O'Connell of Westminster, admissions, 10 years; Douglas W. Patterson of Manchester, physical plant, 10 years; Vicky E. Shaffer of Hampstead, development, 10 years; Shannon S. Zimmerman of Westminster, admissions, 10 years.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.