In Baltimore County Woman, 30, dies in crash on...


January 20, 2001|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

In Baltimore County

Woman, 30, dies in crash on Reisterstown Road

OWINGS MILLS - A 30-year-old Villa Nova woman was killed yesterday morning after losing control of her car on Reisterstown Road, Baltimore County police said.

Elizabeth A. Majka of the 4000 block of Villa Nova Road was traveling south near Ritters Lane when her vehicle clipped a guardrail and veered into some trees about 3:30 a.m., police said.

Majka, who was not wearing a seat belt, was pronounced dead at the scene. Police are investigating the cause of the accident.

In Maryland

15 schools to be honored as `family friendly'

Fifteen area schools will receive McDonald's "Family Friendly Grants" on Tuesday at a ceremony in the library of Thurgood Marshall Middle School in West Baltimore.

Nancy S. Grasmick, state schools superintendent, will present the grants at an awards ceremony beginning at 9 a.m.

Thurgood Marshall is one of the middle schools receiving the grants. The other award-winning middle schools are: Dunbar, Guilford, Highlandtown, Holabird, Stadium and New Song Academy in Baltimore; Golden Ring, Old Mill and Southwest Academy in Baltimore County; Wilde Lake in Howard County; Meade in Anne Arundel County; Edgewood in Harford County; Cherry Hill in Cecil County; and Oklahoma Road in Carroll County.

In Baltimore City

Catholic Relief Services collecting after earthquake

Catholic Relief Services is collecting money to help earthquake victims in El Salvador. When the quake first occurred, CRS committed $250,000 for the immediate distribution of basic food supplies, shelter materials, water containers, cooking supplies and other items.

Checks should be marked "Central America Earthquake Fund" and sent to: Catholic Relief Services, P.O. Box 17090, Baltimore 21203-7090.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.