Poindexter Ravens' choice for Block honor

Awards event scheduled March 6 at Martin's West

January 10, 2001|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Ravens safety Anthony Poindexter, who overcame a devastating knee injury in college to play for the Ravens this season, heads the list of 31 NFL players announced yesterday to be honored at the 23rd annual Ed Block Courage Awards event March 6 at Martin's West.

One player is selected from each NFL team who, in the eyes of his teammates, exemplifies a commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

The award is named after the late Ed Block, longtime trainer for the Baltimore Colts and a respected humanitarian whose most passionate cause was abused children.

Poindexter, the Ravens' last pick of the 1999 draft, tore three of the four ligaments in his left knee midway through his senior season at Virginia. He spent all of the 1999 season rehabilitating and began the 2000 season as a member of the special teams. In a 37-0 win over Cincinnati on Sept. 24, he earned a game ball from coach Brian Billick for his play on special teams.

For further information about tickets, sponsorship opportunities or the foundation, contact Tim Richardson at 410-821-6252 or trichardson@pcbank.net.

The complete list of recipients: Ravens: Anthony Poindexter, defensive back; Jacksonville: Tony Boselli, offensive tackle; Cleveland: Jamir Miller, linebacker; Cincinnati: John Jackson, offensive tackle; Pittsburgh: Dermontti Dawson, center; Tennessee: Kenny Holmes, defensive end; Oakland: Matt Stinchcomb, offensive tackle; Seattle: Matt LaBounty, defensive end; San Diego: John Parrella, defensive tackle; Denver: John Mobley, linebacker; Kansas City: Eric Hicks, defensive end; Miami: Daryl Gardener, defensive tackle; Buffalo: Joe Panos, guard; New York Jets: Jason Fabini, offensive tackle; Indianapolis: Bernard Whittington, defensive end; New England: Tedy Bruschi, linebacker; Atlanta: Jamal Anderson, running back; St. Louis: Trent Green, quarterback; San Francisco: Garrison Hearst, running back; Carolina: Muhsin Muhammad, wide receiver; New Orleans: Joe Johnson, defensive end; Tampa Bay: Derrick Brooks, linebacker; Minnesota: Gary Anderson, kicker; Green Bay: Josh Bidwell, punter; Detroit: James Jones, defensive tackle; Chicago: Clyde Simmons, defensive end; Philadelphia: Cecil Martin, fullback; Arizona: Chris Gedney, tight end; Dallas: Greg Ellis, defensive end; New York Giants: Brad Daluiso, kicker; Washington: James Thrash, wide receiver.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.