Baseball Blue Jays: Signed free-agent P Jason Dickson...


November 14, 2000


Blue Jays: Signed free-agent P Jason Dickson to minor-league contract.

Rangers: Signed P Jayson Durocher to minor-league contract.


Celtics: F Antoine Walker fined $2,500 by the NBA for verbally abusing a game official.


Centennial Conference: Named Western Maryland QB Jamie "Boo" Harris co-Offensive Player of the Year and Western Maryland DL Aaron Bartolain Defensive Player of the Year. Joining Harris and Bartolain on first-team from Western Maryland were OL John Rydzewski, LB Matt Wilchinski, DB Rob McCracken, DB Jason Wingeart (Hereford) and PK Brent Sandrock along with Johns Hopkins RB Scott Martorana and WR Zach Baylin. Named to the second-team were Western Maryland WR Teron Powell, DL Josh Galemore, OL Greg Oravets, LB Derrick Gwyn, KR Rob McCracken (Westminster), Swarthmore WR Blake Atkins (Gilman), Johns Hopkins OL Kevin Kostibos, DL Erich Hellmold and LB Craig Reinert. Johns Hopkins QB Rob Heleniak and Western Maryland OL Scott Shelton received honorable mention.

National Field Hockey Coaches Association: Named Maryland's Rachel Hiskins, Carla Tagliente, Keli Smith, Caroline Walter, Molly Kauffman and Autumn Welsh Division I Mid-Atlantic Region first- team All-Americans. Maryland's Lindsay Gorewitz, Dina Rizzo and Carissa Messimer were named to the second team. Named Salisbury State's Jill Cresor, Joanna Fenske and Tara Webster and Johns Hopkins' Lauren Carney and Ashley Robbins, Villa Julie's Holly Chattin and Frostburg State's Kim Faust Division III South Region first-team All-Americans. Johns Hopkins' Amy Brushi and Katie Reytar, Salisbury State's Katie Richardson and Washington College's Toby Wilmet were named to the second team.

Auburn: Signed football coach Tommy Tuberville to a five-year contract.

Coppin State: MacKenzie Garvin (Patuxent High/Lusby) signed a national letter of intent to play volleyball.

Johns Hopkins: RB Scott Martorana and WR Zach Baylin have been named to the Verizon District II Academic All-America Football Team.

Kentucky: Announced resignation of defensive coordinator and linebackers coach Mike Major, effective at end of season.


Chargers: Signed QB Kevin Daft to practice squad.

Dolphins: Re-signed QB Mike Quinn. Waived LB Michael Hamilton.

Patriots: Placed T Max Lane on IR with broken right leg.


PGA of America: Named Jack Connelly president. Named M.G. Orender and Roger Warren officers.


Panthers: Recalled D Peter Ratchuk from AHL Louisville. Activated RW Scott Mellanby from IR. Sent RW David Emma to Louisville.

Stars: Recalled LW Jon Sim from IHL Utah.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.