Anne Arundel women receive industry honors

June 18, 2000

Thirty-seven area woman have been honored for contributions to the "working world of Anne Arundel County" in the 15th Tribute to Women in Industry.

The honorees, chosen by their employers and community organizations, were honored at a recent dinner at Michael's Eighth Avenue in Glen Burnie.

Honorees this year were:

Maureen L. Agro and Wendy L. Harris of the Pasadena Business Association; Patricia A. Barland, program administrator for the county; Kathleen Philbin Benson, Bay Media advertising sales manager; Barbara Birkenheur, executive director of the Community Center at Woods; Lauren Bland, Hospice of the Chesapeake admissions coordinator; and Linnell R. Bowen, executive director of Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts.

Also, Carol W. Brocious, senior account executive of Comcast Cablevision; Patricia Brooks, assistant vice president of Allfirst Bank; Terrie Buch, manager of product design for International Paper; Christina Anderson Chomo, vice president of marketing for Soup to Nuts Inc.; Barbara Cunningham, executive assistant and human resource manager of the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Hotel; and Christine Scott Davenport, MacArthur Middle School teacher.

Also, Jodee Dickinson, assistant county auditor; Robin Dillow, administrative aide at Capital-Gazette Newspapers; Joan Donovan, director of technology and information services for county public schools; Susie Epling, administrative officer of the Maryland Environmental Service's Water and Waste Water Program; and Claudia Boycott Frantz, Severn School's head librarian.

Also, Sarah L. Garrett, assistant to the vice president for academic and student affairs and professor of legal studies at Anne Arundel Community College; Marie C. Halka, vice president/project manager for the David Taylor Research Center, Anne Arundel Economic Development Corp.; Megan Hoffman, director of community relations at Sunrise Independent and Assisted Living in Severna Park; and Yvonne T. Johnson, team leader of multifamily lending for the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development.

Also, Donna Kaszak, account manager at Bell Atlantic Ready, Bell Atlantic Communications and Construction Services Inc.; Fay Ramsey Mauro, lawyer; Teresa Moore, director of the Maryland Department of Natural Resource's Waterway and Greenways Division; Tiffany Nickels, corporate recruiter for Mentor Technologies Inc.; Karen Peddicord, clinical administrator of Anne Arundel Health System's Women's and Children's Services; and Beth A. Peters, vice president for development and executive director of North Arundel Hospital Foundation.

Also, Melissa Porter, cost accountant for Lear Siegler Services Inc.; Susan Reimer, columnist for The Sun; Teresa Ross, Safeway store manager; Betsie Russell, vice president, Sentinel Title Corp.; Malinda B. Small, director of corporate contributions and community relations for Constellation Energy Group; Susan E. Smink, Annapolis Bank and Trust Co.sales trainer; Leslie S. Smith, vice president, BB&T; Diane Tamariz, Nationwide Insurance agent; and Alice K. Wright, president of Community Health Center at Parole.

The Tribute to Women in Industry is sponsored by the YWCA of Annapolis and Anne Arundel County and Sunrise Assisted Living.

Annual honorees are invited to participate in YWCA programs.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.