Teachers, businesses to be honored at awards dinner

Education Notes

May 07, 2000

Twenty-six teachers -- 25 from public schools and one from an independent school -- will be recognized along with several school-business partnerships at Anne Arundel County's Teacher of the Year -- Awards for Excellence in Education Dinner on Thursday at BWI Marriott.

Highlights of the dinner will be the naming of the county public schools' Teacher of the Year, and awards for business partnership and career-connections school programs.

Jacqueline Baugh, who teaches English at Severn School, will be honored as the private schools' winner.

Finalists for the county teacher award are Deneen Houghton, fifth-grade teacher at Mayo Elementary; Denise Levitine, art teacher at Four Seasons Elementary; Joseph "Sean" Moore, physics teacher at Glen Burnie High; and Robert Widra, who teaches welding at the Center of Applied Technology South.

The other public school nominees were Debra Archer of Woodside Elementary, Michael Ballard of Annapolis High, Virginia "Penny" Berotti of Georgetown East Elementary, Barbara J. Blackburn of Maryland City Elementary, Susan Brown of Central Middle, Christine Davenport of MacArthur Middle, Karen Hahn-Walter of Richard Henry Lee Elementary, and Deborah Hewes of Overlook Elementary.

Also, Cheryl Johnson of Benfield Elementary, Brian Kelly of Northeast High, Helen Kleintank of Davidsonville Elementary, Michelise Loiselle of Ridgeway Elementary, Joan Michel of Crofton Elementary, Kathleen Miller of West Annapolis Elementary, Susan Murphy of Southern High and Anne Paone of Hillsmere Elementary.

Also, Lisa Palazzo of North Glen Elementary, Diana Peckham of Annapolis High, Frances Seman and Claudette Wellington, both of Solley Elementary; and Debra Witt, Lake Shore Elementary.

Businesses nominated for recognition because of partnerships with schools are the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra, Comfort Suites BWI, Marley Station, Maryland Aviation Administration, National Security Agency and Sam's Club.

Presented by the Annapolis & Anne Arundel Chamber of Commerce, the partnership awards are given to businesses that have made significant contributions to education by initiating partnerships with schools or by supporting educational programs for employees.

One award will be given for a business with 50 or more employees, and one for a business with fewer than 50.

Nominated for recognition in the 2000 Innovation in Education program, which focuses on career connections, are Hilltop and Mills-Parole elementaries, Old Mill High and Severn School.

Sponsors of the awards, in addition to the county school system and the chamber, are Bank of America, Comcast, the Association of Educational Leaders, and the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.