Football players honored for courage


March 19, 2000|By Sloane Brown

The first thing you noticed in the lobby at Martin's West was the long line. The second thing was the sportsmanlike behavior of these fervent football fans. After all, they were about to get autographs from many of the top players in the National Football League -- players voted tops in personal courage by their teammates. Honorees for the 22nd annual Ed Block Courage Awards banquet included: the Ravens' Peter Boulware, the Patriots' Drew Bledsoe, the Steelers' Chad Scott, the Titans' Steve McNair and former Detroit Lion Mike Utley, who received the Alumni Courage Award.

In the "stands" (actually, rather nicely laid out dinner tables), there were the more than 1,650 guests, including: Sam Lamantia, Ed Block Courage Awards Foundation board chair and CEO; Frank Culotta, Ed Block executive director; Dave Ferraro and former Baltimore Colt Jim Mutscheller, board members; Lenny Moore, former Colt and foundation president; Tom Matte, former Colt and past president; Jerry Richardson, Carolina Panthers owner; Art Modell, Baltimore Ravens owner; John Ziemann, Ravens marching band president; Ray Sydnor, director of Fellowship of Christian Athletes; Donna Biemiller, Odyssey Video Productions owner; and Robin Kennedy, vice president of Danka Office Imaging Co.

The banquet's proceeds of $250,000 will go to services for abused children around the country.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.