City gains a measure of respect

97-66 all-star win helps ease shortcomings at states

Boys basketball

High Schools

March 18, 2000|By Derek Toney | Derek Toney,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

After failing to win a state boys basketball championship last weekend, Baltimore City flexed its muscle last night in the annual City-County senior all-star game, winning, 97-66, at Essex Community College.

The City All-Stars controlled the outcome from the opening tip, scoring 20 of the game's first 24 points and leading by as many as 36 in the fourth quarter.

Mike Jones of Southwestern and Southern-Baltimore's Brandon Jeffers each scored 14 points to lead the City All-Stars. Overlea's Ryan Pitts and Ishmael Robinson of Woodlawn led Baltimore County with 11 points each.

No. 2 Southern-Baltimore. (Class 4A) and No. 15 Edmondson (2A) -- lost state semifinals, marking the first time a city public school boys team hasn't won a title since joining the state association in the 1992-93 season.

"It feels good but it won't replace a state championship in my heart," said Jeffers, a 6-foot-4 forward named outstanding player. "That was a real hurting feeling."

Lansdowne's Chad Gibson (nine points) was the outstanding player for Baltimore County. Last week, Pikesville (1A) and Randallstown (3A) each played for state championships but lost.

"I think it was good for the kids to get experience against the tougher competition," said Pikesville coach Craig Amos, who coached the county squad. "I think a lot of the kids were nervous."

CITY--Burns 6, Knox 6, Collier 5, Truitt 11, Jeffers 14, Keaton 6, Colbert 2, Tucker 2, Gambel 4, Gibbs 2, Clark 11, Prettyman 4, Jones 14, Dorsey 10. Totals 40 13-20 97.

COUNTY--Pitts 11, Augustoo 4, Fair 3, Robinson 11, Gibson 9, Goodman 3, Roblin 4, McCoy 6, Hall 2, Williams 2, Drummond 7, Henninger 2. Totals 24 14-22 66.

Half--City, 46-29.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.