Balto. Co. police promote 12 officers

Newly named colonel to head new division

March 18, 2000|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

Leaders of the Baltimore County Police Department took time out yesterday in the search for fugitive Joseph C. Palczynski to promote 12 officers.

During the ceremony at Villa Julie College, county police Chief Terrence B. Sheridan named a colonel, major and captain; two lieutenants; three sergeants; and four corporals.

Maj. Dennis M. Robinson, a 28-year veteran, was promoted to colonel and will command a new division called the administrative and technical services bureau.

Capt. James W. Johnson was promoted to major and will replace Robinson as supervisor of the western patrol division. Johnson has been with the department for 21 years.

Lt. Peter S. Evans, who has been with the department since 1985, was named a captain assigned to internal affairs.

Sgts. Kimberly A. Hall and Richard A. Howard were named lieutenants. Hall, a 12-year-veteran, will work out of the Woodlawn precinct, and Howard, who has 11 years on the force, will work in the Wilkens precinct.

Cpls. Michael T. Burton, Martin E. Lippy and Theresa A. McQuaid were promoted to sergeant. Burton, who began his career with the department in 1989, will work out of Essex; Lippy, who has 11 years' experience, was assigned to the Woodlawn precinct; and McQuaid, who has been with the department for 12 years, will be a part of the training division.

Officers Darren L. Calhoun, Deanna L. Chemelli, Brian A. Miller and Matthew R. Smith were promoted to corporal.

Calhoun will work in the Wilkens precinct, and Chemelli will work in records management. Both began their careers in 1994. Miller, who has six years on the force, was assigned to the Towson precinct, and Smith was assigned to operations. Smith joined the department in 1996.

Pub Date: 3/18/00

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.