County trims number of zoning commissioners

March 01, 2000

In a unanimous vote yesterday, the county commissioners formally trimmed the Planning and Zoning Commission to five members from seven. Officials will not have to ask for resignations because two members recently left the planning body. Grant Dannelly left when his term expired last month, and Thomas Hiltz resigned last fall.

State law allows for a five- to seven-member commission. The previous Board of County Commissioners increased the planning panel to seven members to give slow-growth advocates a voice on the body. The former commissioners' appointments were both residents of South Carroll, the county's most populous area.

The board also voted to increase the one-year term of the alternate planning commissioner to five years.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.