Commissioners look into shrinking planning panel from 7 members to 5

February 20, 2000

The Carroll commissioners are expected to consult with their attorney Tuesday about trimming the county planning panel by two members.

Two vacancies on the seven-member Carroll County Planning and Zoning Commission have made it possible to make the change. Grant S. Dannelly ended his term Thursday; Thomas G. Hiltz resigned last fall.

For many years, the planning panel had five members.

The board was expanded in 1995 to include Hiltz, a slow-growth advocate from Woodbine, and David T. Duree of New Windsor.

Former Commissioners W. Benjamin Brown and Richard T. Yates approved their appointments in hopes they would make the panel more responsive to residents who want growth to be managed better.

Commissioner Donald I. Dell voted against the expansion.

The commissioners will meet with their attorney at 1: 30 p.m. Tuesday in the County Office Building, 225 N. Center St., Westminster.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.