Mount St. Mary's drops sixth straight, 81-61

Long Island's 21-4 spurt in second half sparks win

State men

February 13, 2000|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Jonathan Frank scored 17 points and three other players reached double figures as Long Island University dealt Mount St. Mary's its sixth straight loss, 81-61, last night in Emmitsburg.

Gregory Harris scored 15 for Mount St. Mary's (5-17, 4-9 Northeast Conference), which led 34-31 at intermission.

The Blackbirds (7-15, 4-9) used a 21-4 run midway through the second half to go ahead for good, 63-46.

Bowie State 88, Shaw 70: Four players scored in double figures, led by Eric McNeil's 20 points and 13 rebounds, for the host Bulldogs (3-19, 2-5 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association).

Johns Hopkins 81, Dickinson 59: Nino Vanin led all scorers with 17 points as the host Blue Jays (16-6, 8-3 Centennial Conference) overwhelmed the Red Devils (11-11, 7-4). Hopkins had a 51-31 rebounding advantage.

Marymount 73, Goucher 63: Bert Rueger had 16 points to lead the host Saints (12-10, 8-4 Capital Athletic Conference) over the Gophers (10-11, 5-7). Tavar Witherspoon, Todd Sykes and Darrian Lee had 12 points apiece for Goucher.

Salisbury State 117, St. Mary's 95: Josh Merkel and Doug King had 17 points apiece as the Sea Gulls (15-6, 0-2 CAC) rolled over the visiting Seahawks (11-11, 5-7).

Gettysburg 70, Western Maryland 62: Greg Schreiber and Bill Davidson each hit three free throws in the final 39 seconds as the host Bullets (13-9, 9-5 Centennial Conference) held off the Green Terror (3-18, 1-10).

Reserve Mike Furey scored 17 points for Western Maryland.

Washington College 76, Muhlenberg 64, OT: The Shoremen (10-12, 6-5 Centennial Conference) outscored the Mules (14-8, 7-4) by 16-4 in the extra period, including 10 by Greg Adams (game-high 22 points). Adams' layup with three seconds left in regulation forced overtime.

Pub Date: 2/13/00

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.