Dedication to Scouting to be honored at dinner


February 09, 2000|By Heather Tepe | Heather Tepe,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

BOY SCOUT Troop 649 will hold a dinner and Court of Honor at 7 p.m. Tuesday at the Wilde Lake Interfaith Center.

Among the Scouts being honored are three 11-year-old boys who earned First Class rank during their first year as members of the troop, Scoutmaster Pat Roth said.

First Class means the Scouts have mastered basic skills in knot-tying, map- and compass-reading, first aid and swimming.

The three boys -- Patrick Sayre, Kevin Barrett, and Amiel Stanek -- will be the newest First Class Scouts in Troop 649.

At the ceremony, Harper's Choice resident Barbara Thomas will receive her Wood Badge, an adult leader training award. Thomas fills two leadership positions for the troop -- committee chairwoman and charter organization representative, acting as liaison between the troop and its sponsoring church.

"[The award is] a major achievement for any adult who is committed to making sure the Boy Scouts have a good, quality program," Roth said.

People rarely try to earn the award, Roth said, because the requirements are rigorous, involving three weekends of camping, a series of training classes and completion of projects designed to improve the individual, the Scout unit and the district.

Thomas has been involved in Scouting since her son Nicholas was in the first grade. Now a senior at Wilde Lake High School, he is an Eagle Scout.

"Barbara was basically the founder of this new Boy Scout troop," Roth said.

Troop 649, organized in October 1998, is sponsored by St. John the Evangelist Roman Catholic Church at the Wilde Lake Interfaith Center.

Reflections winners

The National PTA's Reflections Program invites students to create works of literature, visual art, musical compositions or photographs in response to a theme. This year's theme was "Anything is possible..."

The program is open to children in preschool through grade 12. Submissions are judged at the school level, and winners are selected to compete at county, state and national levels.

In the literature category, county-level winners from west Columbia are Paul Tschirigi and Carolyn Bevans from Longfellow Elementary; Jinjin Sun from Pointers Run Elementary; and Virajita David from Atholton High School.

For photography, west Columbia winners are Lauren Byrnes from Wilde Lake Middle School and Elizabeth Klaczynski from Atholton High School.

In the music category, winners from our neighborhood are Nina Beri and Ross Lewin from Pointers Run Elementary; Jason Shafer from Wilde Lake Middle School; and Hans Ostendorp from Atholton High School.

For visual arts, Kiran Harding from Clarksville Middle School was the only west Columbian selected to go on to the statewide competition.

Wilde Lake Middle winners

The Wilde Lake Middle School reading department is proud to announce three first-place winners in a countywide literary competition for young writers.

The Young Authors Contest is sponsored by the Southern Maryland International Reading Association Council of Howard County.

Seventh-grader Meredith Davey earned the top spot in the short story category with her entry, "The Silver Chain."

Eighth-grader Chris Miller took first place in the essay division with his work, "The Elouve Ordeal of Honor."

Another eighth-grader, Peggy Fulda, won first place in the poetry category with her poem, "Crest to Crest."

The winning entries will be published in an anthology published by the sponsoring group, and each young author will receive a copy.

On Jan. 27, the Wilde Lake Middle School media center was filled with display boards put together by 60 pupils who participated in the school's Science Fair. Project categories ranged from biology to technology.

Some of the projects were the culmination of three years of research by pupils enrolled in the school's Gifted and Talented Science Program. Their projects were evaluated on the quality of their research, hypothesis and adherence to scientific process.

Topics ranged from "The Effect of Yoga on Pulse" to "Does Blowing Bubbles Affect How Long the Flavor of Gum Lasts?"

The grand prize winner is Michelle Waligora, who investigated "The Human Learning Curve."

Reva Eskinazi took second place for her examination of "The Effect of Vision Corrective Devices on Central and Peripheral Vision Accuracy."

Lauren Byrnes and Robbie O'Brien tied for third place. Lauren investigated "The Effect of pH on Taste" and Robbie examined "The Effect of Drag Placement on a Model Rocket."

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.