Baseball Brewers: Invited P Bob Scanlan, P Hector...


January 15, 2000


Brewers: Invited P Bob Scanlan, P Hector Ramirez, IF Mickey Lopez and IF Jose Fernandez to spring training.

Cubs: Invited IF Jeff Huson and OF Corey Patterson to spring training.

Devil Rays: Agreed to terms with P Jim Mecir on one-year contract.

Diamondbacks: Agreed to terms with P Matt Mantei on one-year contract and P Mike Morgan on minor-league contract.

Mariners: P Frankie Rodriguez (2-4 with three saves and a 5.65 ERA in 28 games in 1999) agreed to one-year, $580,000 contract. Named Wayne Norton as Canadian scouting supervisor, Patrick Guerrero as Dominican Republic scout, Rafael Santo Domingo as Puerto Rico scout, and Pedro Avila and Luis Fuenmayor as Venezuela scouts.


Richmond Rhythm (IBL): Signed G John Morton. Waived F Evers Burns (Woodlawn).


Alabama State: Named L.C. Cole football coach.

Eastern Connecticut State: Announced resignation of women's soccer coach Matt Paton to accept the position of women's assistant soccer coach at Colorado.

Georgia Tech: Named LSU tight ends coach David Kelly wide receivers coach.

Liberty: Football coach Sam Rutigliano retired.

Navy: Named Charles McMillian football secondary coach.

Princeton: Named Roger Hughes football coach.


Avalanche: Recalled F Dan Hinote from AHL Hershey.

Canucks: Recalled D Zenith Komarniski from AHL Syracuse.

Canucks: Acquired RW Vadim Sharifijanov and a 2000 third-round draft pick from Devils for 2000 second- and third-round draft picks.

Flames: Recalled F Benoit Gratton from AHL St. John's.

Lightning: Recalled G Rich Parent from IHL Utah.

Sharks: Assigned F Andy Lundbohm to AHL Kentucky. Recalled D Scott Hannan from Kentucky.


Broncos: Signed OL Jason Watts, S Brad Trout and WR Donald Sellers.

49ers: Fired defensive backs coach Greg Brown.


Cleveland Crunch (NPSL): Signed forward Lee Edgerton to 15-day contract.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.