Ed Block Awards banquet March 7

Boulware a recipient

Pro Football

January 06, 2000|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation announced the recipients for its 1999 Ed Block Courage Awards yesterday.

One player from each NFL team is chosen by vote of his teammates for exemplifying courage on and off the field and serving as a role model for his team and community.

The Ravens' Block Award recipient this year is linebacker Peter Boulware.

Recipients will be honored at a banquet in Baltimore on March 7. Proceeds from the banquet benefit the Courage House National Support Network of centers for abused children in 10 NFL cities.

The awards are named for the longtime trainer of the Baltimore Colts.

Ed Block recipients


Ravens, Peter Boulware, LB; Buffalo, Sean Moran, DE; Cincinnati, Tom Tumulty, LB; Cleveland, Derrick Alexander, DE; Denver, Rod Smith, WR; Indianapolis, Cornelius Bennett, LB; Jacksonville, James Stewart, RB; Kansas City, Tim Grunhard; Miami, O. J. Brigance; New England, Drew Bledsoe, QB; New York Jets, Marvin Jones, LB; Oakland, Eric Allen, CB; Pittsburgh, Chad Scott, CB; San Diego, Charles Dimry, CB; Seattle, Brian Habib, G; Tennessee, Steve McNair, QB; Arizona, Lester Holmes, OL.


Atlanta, Byron Hanspard, RB; Carolina, Mike Minter, S; Chicago, Ryan Wetnight, TE; Dallas, Ernie Mills, WR; Detroit, Dan Owens, DE; Green Bay, Earl Dotson, OT; Minnesota, Robert Griffith, S; New Orleans, Troy Wilson, DE; New York Giants, Le'Shon Johnson, RB; Philadelphia, Mike Mamula, DE; St. Louis, Ernie Conwell, TE; San Francisco, Bryant Young, DT; Tampa Bay, Hardy Nickerson, LB; Washington, Tre' Johnson, G.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.