Swann, Crofton town manager, named Citizen of the Year


November 23, 1999|By Nancy Gallant | Nancy Gallant,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

SOME OF THE FINEST people in West County were honored Friday night at the annual Crofton Awards Dinner Banquet, held at Crofton Country Club.

I had really looked forward to attending the event, always enjoying the excitement of discovering which local volunteers and business people will be honored for their contributions to our community.

But this year, family obligations intervened. Because I couldn't go to the banquet, I spent Sunday afternoon trying to gather news about this year's winners.

One by one, I called people I knew had attended the event. But nobody was home. And I had a deadline.

I called the Crofton Civic Association's town manager, Barbara Swann.

"Barbara," I asked, "could you tell me who won `Citizen of the Year?' "

There was a very long silence on the other end of the line. Then she answered quietly, "I did."

My immediate reaction was, "Perfect!" For as long as Crofton can remember, Barbara Swann has been the woman people call -- just as I did -- when they need to know something about the community or simply when they need help.

Barbara has been town manager since 1993 and has worked for the civic association in other posts since 1970. Before that, she was involved in community affairs as a volunteer.

She worked with the Crofton Athletic Council back in the days when the Ladies' Auxiliary ran the concession stand. Barbara is a stalwart presence at all community events, sometimes in her role as town manager, sometimes as a member of the Crofton Kiwanis Club.

She is also a member of the Small Area Planning Committee and the Route 3 Task Force.

Many times over the years, Barbara has helped people in our area understand community history or find a better way to address a community issue. She is a great choice for the Crofton Civic Association's 1999 Citizen of the Year.

Carole Ehemann was honored as Teacher of the Year. A home economics teacher at Crofton Middle School, Carole also has been faculty adviser of the school's Builders Club, a Kiwanis- sponsored organization that introduces middle school pupils to the world of leadership and community service.

The Arundel Volunteer Fire Department presented its President's Award to William "Tad" Elgie as volunteer of the year.

Tad organized a computerized data system that is tracking the thousands of calls the department responds to each year.

The Crofton Athletic Council honored Mike Spaid as Cardinal of the Year. Mike is the organization's treasurer.

Marnea Shamblen was named Outstanding Young Leader by the Bowie Crofton Jaycees. Besides her work with the local Jaycees, Marnea has been active at the district level of that organization.

The Crofton Police Department named John Woodall Officer of the Year. Among his achievements was intervening to prevent a suicide.

Dennis Stackhouse, an insurance agent, was named Business Person of the Year by the Greater Crofton Chamber of Commerce.

The Greater Crofton Council Citizen of the Year award was presented to Torrey Jacobsen in recognition of his contributions to the council.

Torrey has been active in working for improved educational opportunities in West County.

Cosmetics talk

A representative from Mary Kay Cosmetics will speak at this month's meeting of the Four Seasons Women's Club, at 7: 30 tonight at Four Seasons Elementary School in Gambrills.

All women in the Four Seasons community are invited to attend and learn more about the club. Information: Joanie Frykman, 301-621-7228.

Manor View craft fair

Manor View Elementary School at Fort Meade will hold a holiday craft fair and pancake breakfast from 8 a.m. to 12: 30 p.m. Dec. 11.

Admission to the craft fair is free; breakfast is $2.

Children's activities are being planned.

Craft booth spaces are available for $15. Reservations will be accepted until Dec. 1. Information: Joelle Michaels, 410-674-8371.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.