State soccer finals

November 18, 1999

Class 4A girls

No. 6 Westminster (13-2-1)

vs. No. 9 Parkville (14-2-1)

When: 5 tonight, UMBC Stadium

Outlook: This championship pits two newcomers to the final stage.

Parkville had never even won a regional title until edging Dulaney, 3-2, on Nov. 9. In last Saturday's semifinal, junior F Kristen Habicht and senior M Stephanie Curnoles scored in Parkville's convincing 2-0 win over Bowie.

Habicht leads the Knights with 18 goals and eight assists. Sophomore GK Heather Rock, with 11 shutouts, has allowed just 11 goals.

Westminster's path to the final included wins over highly touted Severna Park and Wootton, defending Class 4A champ. The Owls edged the Falcons on penalty kicks (7-5) Nov. 5 and beat Wootton, 1-0, last Saturday.

First-team All-State senior Mandy Komar (13 goals, nine assists) scored for the Owls against Wootton. Second-team All-State senior F Tricia Teal has 10 goals and four assists. Senior GK Amy Ridgely has allowed 17 goals.

Both teams are on nine-game winning streaks.

-- Edward Lee

Class 4A boys

Churchill (14-2-1)

vs. No. 6 Dulaney (15-1)

When: 7: 30 tonight, UMBC Stadium

Outlook: Dulaney comes off Tuesday's 3-0 win over Prince George's County's Eleanor Roosevelt, in which F Jonathan Newton (10 goals, five assists) scored twice.

F Steve Toutsis (eight goals, seven assists) and M Mike Hoeck (seven, one), with five game-winning goals, support the scoring.

Ds Jay Sasiadek and Ethan Donoho and GKs Nick Warner and Mike Hoesch anchor a defense that has allowed just 11 goals..

Churchill, from soccer-rich Montgomery County, lost last year's Class 4A title game to Anne Arundel County's Chesapeake.

The Bulldogs (14-2-1) beat Severna Park, 2-1, in last week's overtime semifinal and defeated No. 3 Archbishop Curley this season. Led by F Jon Mayo and M Jon Hecht, they are aiming for the school's sixth state title.

-- Lem Satterfield

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.