County economic group elects officers for board The...


November 14, 1999

County economic group elects officers for board

The Anne Arundel Economic Development Corp. has elected officers, all of whom are members appointed by County Executive Janet S. Owens.

Konrad Wayson of Hopkins & Wayson Inc. was elected chairman of the nine-member board to replace longtime Chairman Jay Winer, president of A. J. Properties and one of the board's founding members.

Other new officers include Gil Hardesty, a retired banker and board member of Sandy Spring National Bank, vice chairman; Carl Smith, area manager for Bell Atlantic, secretary; and Ermis Sfakiyanudis, principal of Sigma Engineering Inc., treasurer.

The board also named member Kathryn B. Freeland to be chairwoman of the loan committee that decides on applications for loans from the corporation's Arundel Business Loan Fund.

Lobbyist for county resigns after almost 2 years

Catherine A. Kelly, the county's government relations officer for almost two years, notified County Executive Janet S. Owens last week that she is resigning.

Her duties included lobbying the county's legislative delegation on behalf of the county. Owens hasn't named a replacement for Kelly, who was paid $69,525 a year.

Former County Executive John G. Gary appointed Kelly in January 1998.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.