Lauber OT goal puts Towson in tourney final

Northeastern falls, 1-0

Tigers to play at Hartford

November 08, 1999|By Jeremy Bryant | Jeremy Bryant,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

Todd Lauber's goal in the 97th minute of the America East tournament soccer semifinal gave host Towson University a 1-0 win over Northeastern yesterday.

The goal, which came 7: 35 into overtime, sent the Tigers to the conference final for the second consecutive year and gave them a chance for an NCAA playoff berth.

Lauber, whose previous goal beat the Huskies in the regular season, took a lead pass from Alfonso DeMares and fired the ball past Northeastern keeper Allan Lewis.

"This was the most exciting game-winner I've ever had," Lauber said. "I don't think anything else has come close to this."

Lauber wasn't the only hero for the Tigers (11-3-4).

Towson goalie Chris Hurley (three saves) was forced out of the game with just under 30 minutes left in regulation when ge received a concussion from a collision with the Huskies' Petter Starnas.

Redshirt freshman Andy Hicks (Bowie) replaced Hurley at a time when the Wildcats' offense was gaining momentum and creating good scoring opportunities. Hicks ended up making seven saves, the most important one coming with 2: 30 remaining in the second half on a header by Northeastern's Anders Hoyem from 5 yards away.

This will be Towson's third appearance in the America East tournament title game since joining the conference five years ago.

The Tigers lost to Drexel, 2-1, last year and to Boston University, 3-1, in 1995.

Towson will travel to the University of Hartford next Saturday for a 1 p.m. game against the top-seeded Hawks. The No. 2-seeded Tigers beat Hartford, 1-0, in their last game of the regular season.

The winner will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA tourney.

Goal: T--Lauber. Assist: T--DeMares. Saves: N--Lewis 4; T--Hurley 4.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.