Area students garner honors at college awards ceremony

Seven county residents recognized during spring Western Maryland event

July 18, 1999

Academic, activity and leadership awards were presented to seven area students at the annual Spring Awards Ceremony at Western Maryland College.

Laura Boesler of Westminster, a junior mathematics major, won the Charles J. Miller Award for Excellence in Mathematics.

Gaelen Cross of Sykesville, a junior biochemistry major, was given the Harry Clary Jones Scholarship in Chemistry. The award, along with a scholarship in physics, honors the memory of Jones, a longtime faculty member at WMC.

Lindsey Drager of Eldersburg, a junior history and English double major, was given the James D. Essig Memorial Scholarship. The award, a memorial to Essig, a longtime history professor, is given to a history major with at least a B average who demonstrates high personal and academic integrity.

Kenneth Fischer of Sykesville, a junior biology major, was given the Gordon B. Shelton '68 Award for Excellence in the Life Sciences.

Jarrod Gillam of Upperco, a senior business administration major, was inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa, a national honor society for campus leadership.

Jaime Rauser of Hampstead, a junior sociology major, was given the James P. Earp Sociology Award. The award, established in 1985 in memory of Earp, former chairman of the sociology department, is given to the junior who has demonstrated a high level of scholarship in the study of sociology, as well as qualities of character and leadership that have been an inspiration to the campus community.

Caroline Rodgers of New Windsor, a freshman, was given the Felix Woodbridge Morley Memorial Award. The award, named in memory of their son by Mr. and Mrs. Felix Morley, is given to the freshman who has most happily justified admission to the college community.

Pub Date: 7/18/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.