Kraus' course-record 69 leads qualifiers

Woodholme CC member tops field by 8 strokes for MSGA Women's Amateur

July 14, 1999|By SPECIAL TO THE SUN

SILVER SPRING -- Andrea Kraus, from Pikesville and Woodholme Country Club, established a course record in shooting 4-under-par 36-3369, destroying the qualifying field for the 78th annual Maryland State Golf Association- Women's Division Amateur championship at Argyle CC yesterday.

The medalist, who won this title in 1994, finished eight strokes ahead of her closest pursuers, Jessica Lewis, of Columbia CC, and Erin Clasper, of Congressional CC, a pair of 18-year-olds.

For the round, Kraus, who won the Greiner Titleholders trophy by five shots last week at Baltimore CC, had six birdies and a double-bogey.

Kruas, whose long drives set up the rest of her game, birdied the first hole, doubled the par-3 fifth, then played the last 13 holes 5-under par. Along the way, she birdied the three par-5s. Earlier, she had parred the other two on the card, Nos. 2-3.

Lewis birdied the 18th to record the first 77, and Clasper joined her when she double-bogeyed the 16th. Each shot 38-39.

It took a five-for-three playoff at 82 to sort out the last three places in the 16-player championship draw, with Sandi Terrill, Deb Pearson and Bonnie Fry earning the final spots. Leigh Farrell and Stephanie Kell dropped into the second flight.

After today's first round, there will be a double round tomorrow and a scheduled 18-hole final Friday.

First round (qualifying scores in parentheses): Andrea Kraus (69) vs. Bonnie Fry (82); Jessica Fernandez (79) vs. Corrie Tayman (80); Karen Jones (78) vs. Brooke Bendler (81); Cindy Peterka (78) vs. Lisa Schlesinger (81); Jessica Lewis (77) vs. Deb Pearson (82); Jane Fitzgerald (79) vs. Melinda Morgan (80); Erin Clasper (77) vs. Sandi Terrill (82); Mary Fechtig (79) vs. Joan Winchester (81).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.