Junior Achievement of Central Maryland


July 11, 1999|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To educate and inspire young people to value free enterprise, understand business and economics and be work-force ready. Junior Achievement hopes to develop a desire in young people to stay in school and appreciate lifelong learning and to develop positive attitudes toward work. Throughout the school year, Junior Achievement volunteers present hourlong economics-oriented lessons to students in grades kindergarten through 12.

Latest accomplishment: Junior Achievement of Central Maryland received the Peak Performance Award from Junior Achievement Inc. for 79 percent program growth during the 1997-1998 school year and achieved the highest growth rate of Junior Achievement offices throughout the country. The group is once again a candidate for the award after achieving 73 percent program growth in the 1998-1999 school year.

On the horizon: This fall, fifth graders will be running for mayor, policing the streets and cashing payroll checks at the bank when they participate in Exchange City, Junior Achievement's newest hands-on learning laboratory. Exchange City is a 10,000-square-foot city where students will learn to create a business, run a newspaper, supervise employees and hold elected office, in addition to earning and managing money.

About Junior Achievement of Central Maryland: 1998-1999 enrollment -- 20,000 students. Operating budget: $600,000.

Where and when: Executive Plaza III, 11350 McCormick Road, Hunt Valley. Summer hours: 8 a.m.-4 p.m. Monday-Friday. Call 410-527-1966.

William J. Crowley Jr., chairman of the board of directors: "Junior Achievement of Central Maryland provides students with the opportunity to learn the reality of the work world. In addition to simply caring about our youth, the quality of our work force has a direct correlation with our ability to attract companies to our state and retaining those that are already here. By bringing volunteers into the classroom to teach JA's curriculum, we are preparing our youth to compete in today's work force and to become productive citizens."

Members of the board

J. Allan Andersen

Sharon A. Bates

Robert T. Barnes

James G. Breiner

Stacy Burgess

Herbert Burgunder III

Dr. Maggie Caples

Gail E. Chrzan

Jerome W. Collier

W. Talbot Daley

Barry Dennis

Kirstie Durr

Wayne R. Gaddow

Chris Giermek

Judy Goldberg

Ruth Hakulin

James Hamlin

A. David Horsman

Virginia S. Hovermill

Raymond E. Kadlubowski

Brian N. Kagen

George W. Kirkley

Dennis E. Laux

Gail H. Sanders

Carl R. Schlaich

Douglas E. Schmidt

William J. Smith

Karen T. Syrylo

Charles J. Valentini

Arthur S. Varnado

William J. Vigliotte

James R. Wallis

D. Keith Watkins

Joe L. Wenderoth

Kenneth Westary

George W. Williamson

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.