Teachers receive state-level honorsSeveral Carroll County...

Education Notes

July 04, 1999

Teachers receive state-level honors

Several Carroll County educators were honored recently at the state level.

Four teachers have been selected by the Maryland State Department of Education to attend the Maryland Technology Academy from July 26 to Aug. 12 at Towson University.

The academy provides a cadre of teachers from around the state with the opportunity to learn how to use technology to support Content Standards, Maryland Learning Outcomes and Core Learning Goals.

The Carroll teachers are Kim Sauers and Kelly Hammond from Manchester Elementary; Kim Kelly from Eldersburg Elementary; and Chuck Beaver from Westminster High.

Harry Fogle, supervisor of special education, was elected to a second term as chairman of the state Special Education Advisory Committee. As chairman, he leads a statewide group of parents and students with disabilities, agency representatives and advocacy organizations for the disabled, and educators.

The committee is a federally mandated organization according to the Individuals With Disabilities Education Act, which provides federal guidelines governing services for students with disabilities.

During the 1998-1999 school year, Fogle led the group through activities that identified key issues affecting disabled students and their families. The committee then made recommendations to the state education department's Division of Special Education and Early Childhood Programs.

Literacy Council elects officers, honors volunteers

The Literacy Council of Carroll County recently elected new officers and honored its volunteers at its annual meeting.

Officers are: Marie Fiester, president; Melvin Mills, vice president; Betty Scharon, secretary; and James Reter, treasurer.

Honored for their efforts were: Margaret Colwell, tutor of the year; Betty Scharon, volunteer of the year; Fred Longhenry, Sandy Holman and Tim Faber, for their work on the newsletter; and Jeanne Carbaugh, dinner chairwoman.

Speaker for the evening was a recently released prisoner from the Central Laundry Facility in Sykesville, who thanked members of the group for the education they provided him.

Foundation announces Shipley scholarship winners

The Community Foundation of Carroll County has announced the winners of the Danele Shipley Scholarship Award, established in 1996 by Daniel and Eleanor Shipley in memory of their daughter.

The scholarship is given to deserving Carroll students for a maximum of four years if requirements are met.

Recipients are: Melissa Corrine Cornett from Westminster High School and Tara Ann Morgan from South Carroll High. Both plan to attend Western Maryland College.

Both were exemplary students who participated in extracurricular activities and community service.

Connector Corps seeks AmeriCorps coordinators

Connector Corps is seeking people to be service learning coordinators as part of AmeriCorps, a national service program.

Coordinators work with students, teachers and local nonprofit organizations to develop high quality service-learning projects to help students volunteer in their communities.

The program is a full-time, one-year commitment beginning Aug. 12. Training, a living stipend of $10,500 and a post-service benefit for education are included.

Information: 410-260-6382.

Pub Date: 7/04/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.