Liberty assembly honors graduates


June 22, 1999|By Sherry Graham | Sherry Graham,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

GRADUATING SENIORS at Liberty High School recently received the following awards and recognitions during an Awards Assembly held the last week of school.

Receiving the Academic All-CMC Athletic Award were: Jonathan Andrews, Abigail Barnett, Jennifer Berarducci, David Bradshaw, Rachel Brelsford, Jennifer Bruce, Andrew Burnham, Scott Carter, Shawn Carter Jr., Corinne Cathey, Matthew Cox, Colleen Cox, Tara Euler, Lisa Evans, Christina Feiler, Carly Ferguson, Wendy Frank, Sheryl Geiger, Gwen Gilmore, Nathan Gilmore, Rebecca Graybill, Timothy Groves Jr., Kristen Hill, Emilee Johnson, Kourtni McAllister, Rebecca Mackert, Dana Parisi, Christopher Peters, Michelle Sotak, Leigh Symmonds, Raymond Tignall and Christine Worozbyt.

The American Legion Memorial Post #223 scholarships were presented to Rebecca Mackert and Michelle Sotak. Micah Reese was the winner of the Anthony Omellio Memorial Scholarship. The Army Reserve National Scholar Athlete Award was presented to Colleen Cox and Raymond Tignall.

The Carroll County Arts Council Award was won by Joann Wheatley, and Michael Powers won the Carroll County Career Connections Award. The Carroll County Coaches Association Award went to Colleen Cox and Micah Reese. Shawna McMonigle and Jamie Affayroux won the Carroll Community College-Commissioners Student Leadership Scholarship.

The Carroll County Chamber of Commerce Award was presented to Carrie Smutek. Michelle Sotak was awarded the Carroll County General Hospital-Health Academic Scholarship, and Wendy Frank won the Carroll County Million Dollar Association Book Award.

The Daughters of the American Revolution award was presented to Leigh Symmonds, the Dekalb Agricultural Achievement Award to Julie Davis, and the Ernest E. Wooden Educational Fund Inc. award to Rebecca Mackert. The Football Foundation Scholar Athlete was Christopher Peters, and Susan Featherstone received an award from the Former Students and Friends of Robert Moton.

The Freedom District Lioness Scholarship went to Kimberly Campbell, and the Freedom District Lions Scholarship to Michael Ennis.

Winners of the Governor's Merit Scholastic Award were: Jennifer Berarducci; Rachel Brelsford; Jennifer Bruce; Colleen Cox; Tara Euler; Christopher Graye; Kristen Hill; Matthew Kemm; Blair Kitchen; Jennifer Klein; Rebecca Mackert; Lauren Ruch; Michelle Sotak; Kristina Stocksdale; Christopher Walsh; and Michelle Weber.

Gina Cinquegrani won the Joanne Neil Child Development Scholarship, and Lauren Baker, Brandi Livesay, Leigh Symmonds and William Matthews won the Joanne Neil NHS Scholarship.

Liberty Drama Booster awards went to Marisa Laur, Lynn Sonnenleiter and Joann Wheatley. Rebecca Mackert received an award from the Liberty Exchange Club. Liberty Instrumental Music Boosters were Kimberly Campbell, Blair Kitchen and James Lantz. The Lutheran Brotherhood Scholarship was won by Scott Carter.

Brandi Livesay was awarded the Marilyn Doyle Memorial Scholarship. The Martin's Food Store Thomas R. Ridge Memorial Scholarship was presented to Jennifer Berarducci. Jennifer Fisk won the Maryland Army-National Guard State of Maryland Commendation Medal.

Maryland Distinguished Scholars were: Rachel Brelsford, finalist; and Jennifer Bruce, Blair Kitchen and Michelle Sotak, semifinalists. Recognized in the talent category were finalist Bethany Kraig, and honorable mention went to James Lantz, Jessica Parton and Julianna Peters.

National Merit Scholarship Commended winners were Rachel Brelsford, Christina Feiler, Christopher Graye and Michelle Sotak.

Stacy Wagner won the Papa Johns Pizza Scholarship, and Shawn Carter Jr. won the Raven's Roost #116 Un-Sung Hero Scholarship. The Robert L. Burger Scholarship was presented to Brianna Van Ells. Jamie Affayroux, Jessica Parton and Brianna Shaffer won Senatorial Scholarships.

The Shen Poehlman Memorial Scholarship was presented to Jonathan Andrews, Jennifer Berarducci, Tara Euler and Leigh Symmonds. David Bradshaw won the SHOP Scholarship, and Michael Powers the Sons of American Revolution award. The University of Maryland, Baltimore County Presidential Scholarship went to David Bradshaw and Erin Topolsky.

The U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award winner was Jennifer Berarducci, and the U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award winner was Kristina Stocksdale. James Lantz won the U.S. Marine Corps Semper Fidelis award. Rebecca Mackert won the Wal-Mart and Westminster Elks #2277 scholarships. The Westminster Police Department Drug Awareness Award was presented to Lynn Sonnenleiter.

The Delegate Amedori Academician Award was given to Abigail Barnett, Shawn Carter Jr., Kelly Damasca, Tara Euler, Elizabeth Muzio, Kimberly Pekar and Lauren Ruch. Eugene Chapman and Jenna Scruggs received the Episcopal Ministries to the Aging Inc. Scholarship, and Tiffany Dove was awarded the Fairhaven Scholarship. The Maryland Municipal League Scholarship was won by Bethany Modracek.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.