North Carroll High recognizes seniors' achievements


June 09, 1999|By Pat Brodowski | Pat Brodowski,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

THE BALFOUR KEY is awarded annually to a group of outstanding scholars at North Carroll High School, usually those who earn a 4.0 grade point average.

In this school, the Balfour Key recognizes every student of top merit; no valedictorian is selected. The awards have an element of suspense because recipients don't know if they've won until their names are announced during graduation exercises.

On Friday, eight of the 305 graduates received the Balfour Key, presented by Principal Gary E. Dunkleberger. In addition to academics, the recipients participated in sports, special interest clubs, student government and honor societies.

Gregory Daut was on the football and track teams, and belonged to the Strategic Gaming Club. His ambition is to "live life to its fullest."

Charis Fulton, captain of the volleyball team and a tennis player, was a school newspaper journalist, among other things. She aims to "always be true to my friends, family, God and myself."

Meredith Gill was on stage for drama club and chorus, played field hockey, basketball and softball, and has an ambition "to play four great years of college softball and live a happy and healthy life."

Jeffrey Graham, the captain of the football team and wrestling coach, plans to "go to college, have a family and live up to my end of the deal."

Manisha Patel was the class president, and aims to be happy and successful after college.

Stephanie Rogers played on varsity teams for soccer, basketball and lacrosse, and enjoyed girls' nights out with "my best buds."

Rebecca Sirman was class treasurer and editor in chief of the yearbook. Her ambition is to "always go one step past wherever people expect me to end up."

Sara Stone played field hockey and lacrosse, worked on the yearbook and has the ambition "to always be happy, smiling bright every day. To always reach for the stars and to travel the world."

Annual awards were presented during graduation exercises. The Brinton Memorial Award was given to Gregory Daut and Manisha Patel for exhibiting good citizenship, character and service to the school.

For personal growth and contributing in an individual way, the Engle Memorial Award was presented to April Fout and Joseph Lawson.

The Rotary Award for loyalty, high ideals and active participation in extracurricular activities was presented by Ronald Laczkowski to Carrie Black and Scott Thompson. Runners-up for the award were Gregory Daut, Paul Quelet and Stephanie Rogers.

Betty Kemp presented the Hampstead Lions-Lioness Memorial Scholarship to Paul Quelet for his academic excellence and service to the school.

Steve Swam presented the Lineboro-Manchester Lions Awards for outstanding loyalty to the school to Susan Myers and Scott Thompson.

The Women's Club of Hampstead's Fine Arts Award for the outstanding music student planning to continue his education was presented to Sean Dukehart by Victoria Garrettson.

Susan Myers received the North Carroll High School Scholarship, presented by Jeffrey Rogers.

The Former Students of Robert Moton Scholarship was presented by Sally Dotson-Greene to A'Knea Smith, a senior with potential for success in college.

The David N. Steger Memorial Scholarship, provided by Claude W. Steger in memory of his son killed in the Vietnam War, was awarded to Sean Dukehart.

Stephanie Rogers, recognized as a senior with high college potential, received the I. Virginia and E. Carroll Murray Scholarship.

Mark Nejman received the Northeastern Rabbit Association's Award for academic ability and extracurricular activities.

Joe Bach presented awards for participation and volunteering in the North Carroll Recreation Council to Wyatt Deiaco, Stephanie Rogers and Danielle Shearer.

Scholarships and awards

A large number of awards were presented to students at the farewell assembly held Friday at North Carroll High School before graduation ceremonies that evening.

The President's Award for Educational Excellence went to Carrie Black, Evan Buckingham, Sara Clark, Gregory Daut, Wyatt Deiaco, Jeffrey Graham, Michelle Guderjohn, Amanda Hare, Russell Iseminger, Valerie Mancuso, Alicia Mongan, Paul Quelet, William Redmer, Stephanie Rogers, Rebecca Sirman, Sara Stone and Scott Thompson.

The President's Award for Education Improvement went to John Franklin, Rogers Hagert, Amber Miller, Sarah Redmer, Scott Rohrer, Katie Staub, Christopher Totis and Julianne White.

Several college scholarships were announced. Eric Wilhelm received the Bridgewater College Scholarship. A'Knea Smith received the Fred-Carroll Chapter Bowie State Scholarship. Jamey Ayers, Nicholas Deiss, Michelle Guderjohn, Kelly Roth and Trisha Szymanski received Mount St. Mary's College academic scholarships.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.