Baltimore Symphony Orchestra


June 06, 1999|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To make music of the highest quality, to enhance Baltimore and Maryland as a cultural center of interest, vitality and importance, and to enter the 21st century as a model of institutional strength.

Accomplishments: The BSO is celebrating its 83rd season -- a year that has presented the great masterpieces of Beethoven. In addition to a critically acclaimed performance at Carnegie Hall, the 1998-1999 season featured more than 150 concerts ranging from classical to pops and educational to family. The orchestra also recorded albums and enjoyed an extensive broadcast season.

On the horizon: The 1999-2000 season is Yuri Temirkanov's first as the BSO's 11th music director. Throughout his 30-year conducting career, Temirkanov, who maintains his post as music director of the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra in Russia, has become known for his emotionally evocative performances and authoritative artistic style. Also on the horizon, further development of Montgomery County's Strathmore Hall, a second home for the BSO in Bethesda. The orchestra will perform 40 concerts each season at the new facility, which is funded by the state of Maryland and Montgomery County.

About the BSO: Attend- ance: 22,540 subscribers; 7,500 donors. Operating budget: $20 million. Endowment: $60 million.

Where and when: Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall, 1212 Cathedral St. Box-office hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday-Friday; noon to 5 p.m. Saturday-Sunday; and one hour prior to performance. Call 410-783-8000. Web site:

Calman J. Zamoiski Jr., chairman of the board: "The Baltimore Symphony has a long and proud history. As the only American orchestra originally formed as an extension of municipal government, the Baltimore Symphony's ties with the city and state serve as a model for public/private partnership in the arts. With the arrival of Yuri Temirkanov next season, we begin a new and exciting era that is sure to attract an even greater national and international following than the orchestra already enjoys."

Executive Committee members

Philip D. English

Martin L. Grass

Linda Hambleton Panitz

Margery Pozefsky

Jay M. Wilson

H. Thomas Howell

John Gidwitz

Douglas R. Mann

Linda Moxley

Steve Brosvik

Paul Hogle

Michael G. Bronfein

Ellyn L. Brown

Parker O. Chapman

William Couper

L. Patrick Deering

John C. Erickson

Ramon F. Getzov

Benjamin H. Griswold IV

JoAnn G. Hickey

Richard E. Hug

Carol O'Connell

Christian H. Poindexter

Ann L. Rosenberg

Terry M. Rubenstein

Larry P. Scriggins

Richard H. Shindell

Stuart O. Simms

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.