Church dinner theater to produce gangster comedy


June 04, 1999|By Peg Adamarczyk | Peg Adamarczyk,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

FELLOWSHIP, DELICIOUS food and laughs should be expected at this weekend's World Missions Dinner Theatre presentation at Magothy United Methodist Church, 3703 Mountain Road.

The Magothy Masqueraders will present the gangster comedy "Lucky, Lucky Hudson and the 12th Street Gang" at 7 p.m. tomorrow and at 4 p.m. Sunday in the church's fellowship hall.

The show is full of colorful characters, capers and unsavory situations (including a prison riot).

Tickets are $15 in advance, or $18 at the door.

Proceeds will benefit the church's World Missions fund.

Information: Saturday tickets -- Linda Brown, 410-360-3833; Sunday tickets -- Maribel Ibrahim, 410-544-9778.

Berry festivals are sweet

The strawberry festival season continues with two local churches offering berries and more.

Jenkins Memorial Church, at Jenkins Road in Riviera Beach, will have its festival and flea market, starting at 7 a.m. tomorrow, rain or shine.

A light breakfast of coffee and strawberry muffins will be on sale from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m.

Strawberries and other goodies will be available from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. The church women will serve barbecue, hot dogs and strawberries with cake and ice cream.

Silent-auction items (including a fishing trip and hotel overnight packages) will be available, and baked goods, house plants and annuals will be for sale.

Proceeds will benefit the Sunday school fund.

Information: 410-437-0214.

Community United Methodist church, 8680 Fort Smallwood Road, will have its festival from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. tomorrow on the church grounds.

Strawberries served with ice cream and cake, crab cakes, hot dogs, hamburgers, homemade salads and beverages will be sold.

Visitors can purchase homemade strawberry jam, strawberry pies, chocolate covered strawberries and homemade candy, cakes or cookies.

A white elephant table and a fancy table, featuring handmade items, will be available.

The festival will have entertainment and displays for all ages. It will include kids' games and fingerprinting, and a display of equipment from the Riviera Beach Volunteer Fire Company. Performers from Northeast High School's spring production of "Godspell," dancers from the Dance Explosion and the Pasadena Twirlers square dance group will also be there.

Information: 410-255-1506.

Seniors honor classmates

The class of 1999 at Chesapeake High School is history. But before seniors took their final march across the stage, they gathered to honor class members who distinguished themselves in the classroom and in extracurricular activities at the Senior Awards assembly May 27.

Three students were recognized as National Merit scholars: Eric Eaton, Robert Schroll and Jessica Wacker.

Schroll was also recognized as a finalist in the Maryland Distinguished Scholars program. Wacker and Lisa Copley were named as semifinalists. Fourteen students received honorable mention: Lisa Colins; Eaton; David Erderlyi; Jonathan Hall; Candace Hepler; Chrysa Latrick; Justin Letwinsky; Autumn Marler; Charles Miller; Crystal Parker; Meredith Pirone; Melanie Rivers; Kellie Shanahan; and Megan Skiles.

State of Maryland Merit Scholar awards, for students ranked in the top 5 percent of the class, were given to Kasey Burton; Colins; Copley; Eaton; David Erderlyi; Amy Filesi; Ginny French; Leah Greenway; Candace Hepler; Bryan Jenkins; Chrysa Latrick; Miller; Jennifer Montgomery; Meredith Pirone; Heather Schaughency; Schroll; Megan Skiles; and Wacker.

Department awards were presented to: Gregory Svarczkopf, art; Miller, business education; Wacker, English; Jennifer Yeagle, family and consumer science; Copley, foreign language; Schroll, math; Collins, instrumental music; Hall, vocal music; Montgomery, science; Jamie Wheeler, social studies; Jason Woelper, technical education; Shanahan, excellence in psychology; Kristen Bland, assistant -- special education; and Louise Basaman, Intensity V.

Twenty-one seniors will receive Maryland Senatorial Scholarships. They are Dustin Abey; Timothy Byer; Casey Davis; Kimberly Davis; Jeremy Demby; Derek Fink; Karl Gunther; Candace Hepler; Bryan Jenkins; Ellis Johns; Lauren Johnston; Richard McNey; Susan McQuillan; Montgomery; Michael Pierpoint; Pirone; Lory Richter; Carrie Robertson; Keri Sank; Matthew Thompson; and Jamie Wheeler.

Receiving House of Delegates Scholarship awards were Abey; Johnston; Richter; and Thompson.

Seven students who combined the best of academics and athletics were honored for their dual accomplishments. Abey received the Wendys Heisman Scholar-Athlete awards and was named as the Army National Guard distinguished athlete. Lauren Gontkof and Christopher Zeruto were named U.S. Army Scholar-Athletes. Megan Skiles received the Wendys Heisman Scholar-Athlete award. Copley captured the Army National Guard distinguished scholar award. Schroll received the U.S. Marine Corps Semper Fi distinguished scholar award, and Pierpoint received the USMC scholar athlete award.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.