8 from Hopkins, 7 Loyola players All-Americans


National semifinalist Johns Hopkins led Division I with eight players on the U.S. Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association's All-America team that was announced yesterday.

The Blue Jays placed midfielder A.J. Haugen and defenseman Rob Doerr on the first team, Dan Denihan, Matt O'Kelly and goalie Brian Carcaterra on second team and three honorable mentions.

Loyola, the top-ranked team for most of the season, had midfielder Mark Frye (Severna Park High) on the first team, Tim O'Shea and Todd Vizcarrondo on the second team, three on the third team and one honorable mention.

Other area players on the first team were: Virginia's Tucker Radebaugh (St. Paul's), Josh Sims (Severn) of Princeton and Navy's Mickey Jarboe (Calvert Hall).

Pub Date: 6/01/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.