247 students to graduate from college Wednesday

Civil engineer to speak at CCC commencement

May 24, 1999

Carroll Community College will graduate 247 students during commencement exercises at 7: 30 p.m. Wednesday in the physical education learning center at Western Maryland College.

Robert R. Furman, a civil engineer and owner of Furman Builders Inc., will be the keynote speaker. He has a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from Princeton University.

Furman was his company's president from 1946 to 1986. He was executive officer for the construction of the Pentagon and staff officer for the Manhattan District, the organization in charge of developing the atomic bomb in World War II.

Ralph Vaughn, president of the Student Government Organization, will give the student greeting.

Honorary doctorates of public service will be given to Furman, Janet Colburn, William Collins, Betty Dotson, R. Delaine Hobbs and Donald Lippy.

Carroll Community College Foundation awards will be presented to students who meet the criteria in three areas.

The President's Award will go to Marisa Myers and Denise Rickell. The Bulldog Award will go to Sharon Franklin and Mary Jane McGowan-Reymann. The Unsung Hero Award will be presented to Joyce Frantz and Marie Wheeler.

Myers and Shelby Sawyers will be recognized for academic achievement and participation on the All-Maryland Academic Team.

Joseph F. Shields, college president, and Colburn, trustees chairwoman, will award the diplomas.

Sawyers, a member of Phi Theta Kappa, will give the student response, and Susan Cote, president of the Alumni Association, will preside over the investiture of the new alumni.

Pub Date: 5/24/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.