Bryan Pearre is selected Trooper of Year for 1998

9 others from barracks in Westminster honored

May 23, 1999|By Mike Farabaugh | Mike Farabaugh,SUN STAFF

Trooper Bryan Pearre was named 1998 Trooper of the Year for the Westminster barracks during the Superintendent's Awards Ceremony at Maryland State Police headquarters in Pikesville Friday.

Pearre, 23, was one of about 80 troopers and civilians honored, including nine others from the Westminster barracks.

Pearre, a Carroll County resident, will complete his third year on patrol in July. He was nominated for the award by the command staff at the barracks for responding to nearly 1,000 calls for service last year.

During that time, he served six months as the resident trooper patrolling New Windsor and Union Bridge, issued nearly 900 citations, made 98 criminal arrests, 29 drunken-driving arrests and 12 drug arrests.

Last summer, while off-duty, Pearre was involved in apprehending three burglary suspects after a high-speed chase.

Pearre said he became interested in law enforcement as a sophomore in high school and joined the Explorer program at the Westminster barracks when he was 15. At age 18, he became a state police cadet, and he graduated from the state police academy at age 21.

In honoring others from the Westminster barracks, Col. David B. Mitchell, the state police superintendent, awarded a superintendent's commendation to Tfc. Padraic Lacy and letters of recognition to Cpl. Timothy Selby, Tfc. Michael Duars, Tfc. Christopher Cole, Tfc. Jamie Green, Tfc. Edward Muller, Tfc. John Rose, Trooper Jerald Immler and Police Communications Operator Rebecca Wimmer.

Pub Date: 5/23/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.