BaseballCubs: Recalled P Ray King from Triple-A...


May 19, 1999


Cubs: Recalled P Ray King from Triple-A Iowa.

Dodgers: Recalled OF Trenidad Hubbard and C Angel Pena from Triple-A Albuquerque. Placed P Antonio Osuna on the 15-day DL. Optioned C Paul LoDuca to Albuquerque.

Mariners: Transferred OF Matt Sachse from Double-A New Haven to Single-A Lancaster.

Marlins: Activated P Alex Fernandez from the 15-day DL. Placed P Archie Corbin on the 15-day DL, retroactive to May 16. Optioned P Rafael Medina to Triple-A Calgary. Recalled P Brent Billingsley from Calgary.

Red Sox: Placed C Scott Hatteberg on the 15-day DL. Acquired C Mandy Romero from Triple-A Pawtucket.

Rockies: Recalled P Mark Brownson from Triple-A Colorado Springs. Optioned OF Derrick Gibson to Colorado Springs.


America East: Named Towson OF Nick Agoglia player of the week and 1B Gregg Davies rookie of the week.

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association: tion: Named Bowie State softball coach Tonja Braxton coach of the year.

GTE Academic All-America Team: Named Maryland SS Jennifer Potzman and DH Cortney Madea to the All-America District 2 softball team.

National Junior College Athletic Association: tion: Named A Bob Rinehimer (Essex CC), M Andy Gasdia (Harford CC) and D Brad Kerwin (Anne Arundel CC) first-team All-Americans. Named to the second team were: A Gary DeGroat (Anne Arundel CC); A Greg Arbacas (Essex CC); M Brian Barros and John Riley (Anne Arundel CC); D Jon Cline and Josh Rudder (Anne Arundel CC) and G Ryan Nash (Catonsvile CC).

Northeast Conference: Named UMBC's Oscar Lopez (men's tennis) and Mount St. Mary's Jen Stocker (Mount Hebron, women's lacrosse) spring scholar athletes.

Patriot League: Named Navy P Shane Groover baseball pitcher of the year and first-team all-league. Other Navy players named to the first team were SS Tony Mauro and 1B Mark Zematis. P Scott Kozink was named to the second team.

East Tennessee State: G Deon Daniel (Cecil CC) signed a national letter of intent for men's basketball.

Rider: F Alexander Iseghohi (Cecil CC) signed a national letter of intent for men's basketball.

Salisbury State: C Vicki Hardisty, OF April Harned and 2B Megan Hopper earned ECAC first-team all-region honors. P Kelly Braford and SS Stephanie Bennett (Old Mill) earned second-team all-region honors.


Falcons: Signed OT Cornell Green.

Jaguars: Signed DT Kevin Landolt, CB Jason Craft and CB Dee Moronkola to three-year contracts.

Buccaneers: Agreed to terms with FB Landon Smith on a two-year contract.

Horse racing

Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association: ciation: Named Dan Metzger president, effective July 1.

Pub Date: 5/19/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.