Halstad is chosen as new president of Westminster council


The Westminster Common Council selected a new president at its reorganizational meeting last night.

Councilman Damian L. Halstad, 37, a Westminster attorney in his second council term, replaces Edward S. Calwell in the nonvoting chairman's seat.

Calwell, 53, a self-employed training consultant and antiques dealer, had been council president since November 1994.

L. Gregory Pecoraro was chosen vice president, or president pro tem, of the council.

Also last night, newcomer Kevin L. Dayhoff took his seat on the council. He replaces Stephen R. Chapin Sr., who chose not to run for a third term.

Westminster voters last week elected Dayhoff, 45, a landscape designer who had served on several city and county boards, and returned incumbents Suzanne P. Albert, 66, a retired state health official, and Pecoraro, 40, an assistant secretary with the Maryland Department of Transportation.

Pub Date: 5/18/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.