Wynona M. Lipman, the first black woman elected to the New...

Deaths Elsewhere

May 12, 1999

Wynona M. Lipman, the first black woman elected to the New Jersey Senate and the longest-serving member of the upper house, died Sunday in Trenton, N.J., of cancer. She never disclosed her age; Democrats said she was about 70.

Mrs. Lipman, first elected to the state Senate in 1971, had championed the causes of women, minorities, children and small businesses. Bills she had proposed that became law included measures to increase the penalties for adults who patronize child prostitutes and to expand the state's domestic violence laws to protect more victims and provide more services for children.

In a 1989 forum on women and politics, Mrs. Lipman recalled that when she was elected, the Senate didn't even have restrooms for women.

Shirley Dinsdale Layburn, 72, a ventriloquist who won an Emmy in 1949, the first year the awards were presented, died Sunday in New York of cancer. She received her Emmy for Most Outstanding Television Personality.

Her show appeared on Paramount Studio's KTLA in Los Angeles and featured her and her puppet "Judy Splinters."

Gilbert Millstein, 83, who brought attention to Jack Kerouac with a favorable review of the Beat Generation writer's novel "On the Road," died Friday in New York of kidney failure. His 1957 New York Times review of "On the Road" described the novel as a beautifully executed work of art and helped propel Mr. Kerouac into the public consciousness.

Maurice Scott, 86, a trumpeter and band leader whose namesake orchestra headlined concert halls for a half-century, died Saturday in Clifton, N.J.

The Maurice Scott Orchestra played for more than 50 years, with Mr. Scott fronting the group and contributing trumpet and vocals. Mr. Scott, whose real name was Maurice Anzaldi, also played with Tommy Dorsey, Jackie Gleason and Sammy Davis Jr.

Pub Date: 5/12/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.