Baltimore Opera Company

Behind the Scenes

May 09, 1999|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To provide entertainment through quality operatic performances and outreach programs that enrich the region.

Latest accomplishment: The Baltimore Opera Company just completed its 48th season of grand opera, which included two new productions, "Cavalleria Rusticana" with "Pagliacci," and "Norma," as well as "Eugene Onegin," the first Russian opera produced by the company in 20 years. Also, the Beatrice and David Miller Fund for Education was established this year to support the company's educational program, which includes performances in area schools and pre-performance lectures.

On the horizon: An expanded 49th season in 1999-2000, featuring five productions. Baltimore native James Morris returns to sing the title role in "Don Giovanni," the season opener in October. "La Traviata" is scheduled for November, and Rossini's "Cinderella" kicks off a new holiday tradition in December. Acclaimed film director Werner Herzog directs "Tannhauser" in March, and "La Boheme" completes the season in April/May.

About the BOC: Subscribers: 8,900. Operating budget: $5 million. Endowment: $2.5 million.

Where and when: The Lyric Opera House, 110 W. Mount Royal Ave. Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., administration; 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., box office. Call 410-625-1600, administration; 410-727-6000, box office.

Lisa Di Julio Bertani, chairwoman of the board of trustees: "In recent seasons, the Baltimore Opera has achieved significant growth both in artistic achievement and audience enthusiasm through our commitment to bringing international operatic talent to the Lyric stage. To that end, we are pledged to continued growth and contribution to the cultural viability of the region by presenting the finest examples of the operatic art form."

Members of the board

Grace Avery

Loraine Bernstein

Donald E. Bowman

David A. Brune

Maureen Collins

M. Gwen Davidson

Mary Davison

John Del Ponti

Carl E. Eastwick

David H. Fishman

Gordon H. Glenn

Hilda Perl Goodwin

Jesse Joseph Harris

Barbara Hecht

Carl E. Hecht

Dr. Allan Jensen

Samuel G. Macfarlane

J. Douglas Madeley

Mary Mangione

Dr. David Miller

Lewis A. Noonberg

Robin Oegerle

Leon J. Podles

C. Michael Preston

E. Meredith Reid

Laurie Russell

Mary Ann Scully

Stephen D. Shawe

Harry R. Stainrock

John W. Steele III

Gideon N. Stieff Jr.

Janet R. Tolbert

George A. Ward

James S. Weaver Jr.

Dr. John F. Wilber

James R. Williams

Larry M. Wolf

John R. Young

Neil Young

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.