This week's tournaments

May 06, 1999

PGA Tour

Compaq Classic

Site: New Orleans.

Schedule: Today-Sunday.

Course: English Turn Golf & Country Club (7,106 yards, par 72).

Purse: $2.6 million.

TV: ESPN (today-tomorrow, 4-6 p.m.); ABC (Saturday, 4-6 p.m.; Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: England's Lee Westwood closed with a 3-under 69 for a three-stroke victory over Steve Flesch.

Last week: Stuart Appleby beat John Cook and Hal Sutton by one stroke to win the Houston Open.

Note: The tournament was previously known as the Freeport-McDermott Classic at New Orleans and was played the week before the Masters last year.


Mercury Titleholders Championship Site: Daytona Beach, Fla.

Schedule: Today-Sunday.

Course: LPGA International Champions (6,393 yards, par 72).

Purse: $900,000.

TV: CBS (Saturday-Sunday, 4-6 p.m.).

Last year: Danielle Ammaccapane closed with a 1-under 71 for a one-stroke victory over Michelle Estill.

Last week: Rachel Hetherington was one stroke better then Leta Lindley, Helen Alfredsson and Karrie Webb in winning the rain-shortened Myrtle Beach Classic in Murrells Inlet, S.C.

Note: Five of the seven active LPGA Hall of Fame members are playing (Amy Alcott, Betsy King, Nancy Lopez, Pat Bradley, Beth Daniel).

Senior PGA Tour

NationWide Championship

Site: Alpharetta, Ga.

Schedule: Tomorrow-Sunday.

Course: Golf Club of Georgia (6,885 yards, par 72).

Purse: $1.4 million.

TV: ESPN (tomorrow, 2-4 p.m.; Saturday, 5: 30-7 p.m.; Sunday, 2: 30-4 p.m.).

Last year: John Jacobs won his first tour title, finishing with consecutive 5-under 67s for a one-stroke victory over Hale Irwin. Jacobs had a 10-under 206 total.

Last week: Larry Nelson defeated Dana Quigley by one stroke to win the Bruno's Memorial Classic in Hoover, Ala.

Note: Jacobs lost a five-hole playoff to Gary McCord at the Toshiba Senior Classic in March.

Pub Date: 5/06/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.