Arboretum Association

Behind the Scenes

May 02, 1999|By Karin Remesch

Mission: To preserve and augment the existing natural beauty and facilities of the Cylburn Arboretum, a 176-acre nature preserve in the heart of Baltimore with formal and woodland gardens and trails, and Cylburn Mansion, an outstanding example of a post-Civil War dwelling, listed on the National Register of Historic Places and containing original fireplaces, inlaid floors, mosaics, tapestries and ornate plasterworks. Its goal is also to promote knowledge and interest in nature study, conservation, ecology and horticulture through lectures and workshops. A horticultural library and nature museum also are part of the facility, which is managed by the Baltimore City Department of Recreation and Parks' Horticultural Division.

Latest accomplishments: The Stu Kerr Garden, a project established and maintained by Beautiful Baltimore, was dedicated in 1998. Also completed last year was the Barbara Larrabee Garden of native plants and wildflowers, created to attract wildlife.

On the horizon: Renovation of the Perennial Garden is scheduled to start in late spring. Work on the new Conifer Garden should be completed this year. Cylburn Market Day, a plant sale and crafts show, takes place from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday at the arboretum. Cylburn Solstice Celebration, a family day of environmental displays, horticultural and nature activities, is scheduled from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. June 19. Cylburn Book Sale and Perennial Day is 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. June 12.

About the arboretum: Membership: 600. Attend-ance: 55,000 annually. Operating budget: $400,000

Where and when: 4915 Greenspring Ave. Hours: Grounds are open 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily; museum and library, 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. Thursdays; office, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays. Call 410-367-2217.

Jane Baldwin, association board president: "The arboretum is an undiscovered gem, a place of great beauty and peaceful recreation. The arboretum should be supported and protected by everyone as more encroachment and development occurs in the corridor between Cylburn and Druid Hill Park."

Members of the board of directors

Calperta Caan

Licien Harris

Joyce Holmes

Emily Kneebone

Alimay Kendrick

Nadja Pats

Patsy Perlman

Adelaide Rackemann

Trudy Routzahn

Bridget Maginn

Jeanne Phebus

Sarah McClintock

Gerard Moudry

Mary Anne McPherson

Audrey Sawyer

William Stine

Maudnell Wilson

C. Haven Kolb

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.