Chamber of Commerce honors public servants, educators

Awards ceremony at Turf Valley Resort

April 29, 1999

The Howard County Chamber of Commerce was scheduled to honor more than two dozen public servants and educators last night during its community awards event at Turf Valley Resort.

The organization named Pfc. Gabriel Arias as Howard County Police Officer of the Year and Ed Curry as its Auxiliary Officer of the Year, two of nine police officers and 27 people recognized overall. David Williams is Sheriff's Department's Deputy of the Year, and the Maryland State Trooper of the Year is Tfc. Arthur Betts.

Capt. Ray Harne earned Career Firefighter of the Year honors. Volunteer Firefighter of the Year is Sue Shainline. Dispatcher Debora Hoffman is Telecommunicator of the Year.

Seven people were to receive Outstanding Educator awards: Michelle Bagley of Centennial High School, Mary Alice Jost of Howard Community College, Brooke Kuhl-McClellan and Hope Vasholz, both of Hammond High School, Patricia Lindh-Slack of Wilde Lake High School, Janet Quirk of Fulton Elementary School and John O. Wineke of Atholton Elementary School.

Pub Date: 4/29/99

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.